All for nothing?

This interview isn’t supposed to happen. After the interview had been scheduled, an email was sent to me to fill out an application. My first thoughts: OH SHIT! FUCK. I knew I was in trouble before I even started the application. I would never have applied for this job if I had to fill out this application in the first place. Initially, all they wanted was a resume and a cover letter.

I’ve been lucky in the past, and that was enough to get an interview. But not this company. No. Anyway, two things may be getting me into trouble: references (ALWAYS) and I signed a contract with my part-time job. *^%# They asked on the application, “Have you signed an agreement with another company? If yes, explain”.

The contract I signed might forbid me to work at this company. However, I’m not a lawyer, so I’m not 100% sure. I’m just wondering why I’m going on an interview for a job I can’t get because I signed a contract with another company. Hello? Is anyone going to look at the application before Wednesday, so I don’t waste my time or theirs?

No one is probably going to look my application until the day of or even right before I come into the room. That sucks. I bought two semi-expensive blazers and an expensive pair of slacks this weekend. I went all over town for this stuff! I usually wear dress suits, but I’m sick of that shit. I LOVE wearing maxi dresses. I wear them all summer. But I don’t do suits. So I have decided to be comfortable.

Well, the shoes aren’t comfortable. I bought almost 3-inch wedges from DSW. I wore them to the mall yesterday. I could not make it for more than an hour. I had to buy some flats. (Yeah, I should have thought to have flats on me. duh!) Anyway, the wedges should be fine for the interview since I won’t have to walk that much. I just feel like I have to overcompensate for having slacks on. I’ve never worn slacks to an interview before. I feel a little weird about it, but I know other women do it all the time.

The slacks I bought from Macy’s are phenomenal. OMG. They were $69, so they should be great. I ordered them (to pick up at the store) because of the online reviews, and people were so right. I might link to everything I ordered later when I have more time.

The bottom line is, I feel like this could be a big waste of time since I signed a contract with the part-time people. But I have no idea, so I’m going to prepare like I have a job interview on Wednesday.

My next entry was supposed to be on LeTote Select, but I’ve been running around town and doing interview prep, so I might not even get to that. I hope the interview goes well and I wish I would get a job offer even though the job description is scary. I’m new to all this stuff. I have two certifications, but less than one year of experience. I have to start somewhere and if they are willing to interview me…

Gotta do more interview prep stuff.

Leave a Reply

