Trunk Club review #2

Trunk Club is a styling service for men and women.You keep and pay for what you like and send the rest back (free shipping both ways). There isn’t a styling fee.  All of their clothes came from Nordstrom. BUT they don’t get to choose from everything at Nordstrom. Trunk Club’s selection is smaller.

My last stylist (Brooke) left the company. My new stylist is Kendall. I talked with her on the phone about what I like to wear, and she prepared a trunk for me. I told her no shorts, sandals or heels. I also told her I like maxi dresses, and I wanted loose fitted tops. I did not mention a price range. Here’s what she sent:

Brand: NYDJ

Price: $69.60 (on sale)
tc1

I know this looks “grown up” AKA grandmotherly in the picture, but in real life, it looks better. Anyone who knows me (or reads my blog) knows I’m not a grown up. I dress (and act) like a conservative teenager.

Verdict: As of right now, I’m keeping this.

Brand: Free People

Price: $68

tc2

I received a sky blue version of this. At first, I hated it. But I kept trying it on, and I like it. It might have something to do with me really wanting fall clothing. I have enough summer clothes.

Verdict: I’m on the fence. So far this is a keeper. NOPE. I changed my mind due to finances. I would like this is the fall when I will probably (hopefully) have more money.

Brand: Free People

Price: $58

tc3

Verdict: Sigh. I wanted to keep this, but I have to keep $$$ in mind. How often will I wear a plain black t-shirt? I will almost always reach for something with a print. So I’m unfortunately returning it. I love it, though.

Brand: DL1961

Price: $168

tc4

I don’t own a pair of white jeans. Yes, there is an obvious reason for that. Hello? Who can keep white clean?

Verdict: I wanted to like these, but they were a tad too big. I’m not paying $168 for jeans unless they fit perfectly.

Brand: Equipment

Price: $218

tc5

I love Equipment. I borrowed one of their blouses from Rent The Runway. I wore it during my Asheville vacay.

Verdict: Returning. I didn’t love it enough to spend $218.

Brand: Felicity & CoCo

Price: $88

tc6

I thought I would like this, but the colors…ugh! The bottom is orange and pink. I don’t wear orange.

Verdict: Returning. For some reason she sent me a medium even though I told them, I wear a small in dresses. A tad too big.

Brand: Felicity & CoCo

Price: $88

tc7

Same brand, same size, different fit. Strange. This is also a medium, but it fits! Well, it is too long, but I will either wear wedges or get it hemmed. This is by far my favorite item. However, I have so many blue and white maxi dresses. Tough decision.

Verdict: Keeping. 🙂

Brand: Frame

Price: $249

tc8

I wanted to try these because I don’t have anything like them. Let’s just get to the verdict.

Verdict: Too big. Too long. Horrible fit. Returning.

Brand: Joie

Price: $268

tc9

I requested two floral blouses because she was giving me mostly solids. I like prints. I love Joie but…

Verdict: Returning. Despite the floral print, this is still too plain.

Brand: Joie

Price: $228

tc10

Joie has such beautiful blouses. I don’t know why I didn’t get the ones I saw in Saks 5th Avenue. Perhaps they don’t have them at Nordstrom/Trunk Club? I haven’t checked.

Verdict: Returning. Too plain.

Brand: Joie

Price: $238

tc11

It looks a little better in person.

Verdict: Returning

Brand: Eileen Fisher

Price: $98

tc12

This was the most disappointing item I received.

Verdict: returning $98 for that cropped t-shirt?!

Brand: Halogen

Price: $46

tc13

I love cardigans, but I like them to be oversized. Way too fitted.

Verdict: Returning

Brand: Halogen

Price: $46

tc14

I can get a similar cardigan at Forever 21. Too fitted (again). Too plain.

Verdict: Returning

Brand: Paige Denim

Price: $179

tc15

I wanted to try these jeans because I have never tried cropped jeans before. AND I love Paige jeans. I have a pair I have been wearing constantly from ThredUp. I paid less than $35 for those jeans.

Verdict: Returning. They are a little too big.

I wanted to keep a pair of jeans. It isn’t Kendall’s fault that I’m losing weight, and nothing really fits at the moment. Overall, I think she did a good job. I don’t dress my age. I guess I should ask for trendier items. I don’t know how to word it. Most of these blouses/cardigans are too grown up for me.

There is still a chance I may change my mind on some things if something goes on sale like the NYDJ blouse did. I will update this post if I change my mind. As of right now, I’m only keeping 3 things.

I enjoyed this trunk more than my first trunk because I had more options.  If you want Kendall as your stylist you can click right here.

Leave a Reply

