I know its gonna be

I think I know what I want to be when I grow up! It’s scary to say that. I’m only mentioning this on this blog because usually when I say things like this, the strong feeling goes away and I sort of need it to go away because school costs a lot of money. Yes, I would have to go back to school.

I don’t mind going back to school. I just can’t afford it. lol. I would have to get a career certificate first and then an associates degree. I need a Bachelor’s to apply for a license (lots of testing). But I already have one in psychology (minor in business), so I don’t need another one. Thank Buddha.

What career is it? I can’t hold it in any longer. 🙂 I want to be an interpreter for the deaf. I’ve been obsessed with sign language since I was ten years old. I’ve forgotten a lot of American Sign Language (ASL). Of course, I still know the alphabet and a few words. But my ASL is just as good as my Spanish at the moment. I can’t understand when other people “speak” it. I really need to go to school for this. I have a lot to learn.

Unfortunately, social anxiety does get in the way of this. I’m sure there are a ton of SHY interpreters, but social anxiety is totally different. So I’ve got that hurdle to jump. I guess if I go to school, I will have to sign with others and give oral reports in ASL. (scary!) So if I can survive classes, that would be a good thing.

And I have another issue I’ve never blogged about (and probably never will) that would affect ALL job/career options.

There’s money for school, social anxiety, and something unmentionable that affects me pursuing this. But I believe it is never too late to figure it out. If a person knows what they want to do at age 18, I consider that person VERY lucky. I didn’t have any role models with careers. No one in my family went to a university (until after me). So I’m figuring this out all on my own. I’m a late bloomer, and I’m 100% fine with that.

…Except going back to school would delay travel plans (outside of the United States) and buying a house in the country. But that isn’t a big deal to me. I would choose a fulfilling career I think I would love over those things.

I haven’t told anyone IRL about this. I might tell my therapist on Wednesday if we have time to get to it. I can’t believe I’m going back to therapy after months of not going, but that is another entry. I know telling people would result in their opinions and judgments and I’m not feeling that. Whatever! My life, my decision.

Registration for fall classes starts next week! I kid you not. AHHHHHHHHHHHH. I probably won’t attend school in the fall. It’s a money issue. But I do plan to be in school in the spring IF I decide to pursue this. I will probably skip every other semester due to the cost. So it will take a while. It’s definitely not happening overnight.

So I’m putting this out there. Usually, this would make me not want to do it. I’m going to hit publish and see if it works this time.

Leave a Reply

