Asheville trip

UGH!!!! I left my digital camera in that damn robe they provided at the cabin! I was checking for stupid chargers and NOT something important like a freaking camera. My fault. I did upload some pics to my computer, so I have some pics and videos from Asheville. But cute pics of my dog and things like that are gone. 😦 oh well. I’m thinking about getting this Nikon camera. I really want a camera for the Ellie Goulding concert, but I don’t need one. ANYWAY…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The animals greeting us at the cabin

I think I can sum all three days up in one post. I enjoyed Asheville, but I didn’t get to do all the things I wanted. I planned this trip as a solo trip. I plan non-solo trips completely different. So that had a lot to do with why this trip was a B and not an A or B+.

Let’s talk about the good stuff first. The hot tub was a winner. I got into it daily and sometimes more than once a day. It was the only alone time I had, so I cherished it. I read and drank alcohol 😉 while in it.

cove1

The hot tub and the view from it

 

The cabin was THE BEST. There were chickens, donkeys, goats, fish, and horses.

cove3

The queen bed – and where I slept

 

The best outing was the Biltmore mansion. I walked 5 miles that day (with no major foot pain!), and I didn’t even do everything. We toured all 43 rooms of the mansion, toured a little of the gardens, and did the wine tasting. I still don’t get the appeal of wine, but I’m glad I did the tasting. I tasted only four wines because I was driving.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Biltmore mansion

We ate at a lot of local places. I can’t remember all the names. But I had pancakes at The Local Joint in Fairview (A++). I also had a tuna sandwich from Woolworth’s in downtown Asheville. (A). Nothing I saw mentioned the Woolworth’s as a good place to visit, but I highly recommend it. It’s not only a restaurant. It is also an art gallery with superb art.

The cons of Asheville include the price of things. I thought Vegas was bad. The tour of Asheville is $26 per adult. Vegas was cheaper. We only got off and on once. I did enjoy learning about Asheville, but this was one of the things that would have been better to do alone. My mom and I are not on the same page when it comes to stuff like this. I did get to see downtown, so that was cool.

I didn’t get to drive much of the Blue Ridge Parkway because we had a flat tire that morning. It’s a long story. The point is that it made us late for everything on Thursday.

Would I go back to Asheville? Yes. Will I go back soon? Probably not. Next year I’m planning to go to Surry County, VA (again) for my birthday with my mom and my dog. Yay, my dog gets to come! Surry County is an hour away from Virginia Beach so we’ll get to go to the beach also. I used to go to the beach all the time, but I haven’t been there in about 3 years. We’re going to stay in a 2 bedroom cabin at a state park. It is much cheaper than going to Asheville.

The end.

P.S I just ordered the camera from Amazon!!! Ahh! It’s sad that I consider a camera a “need.” It’s going to be delivered to my mom’s house today (Yes, on a Sunday). I probably won’t pick it up until later this week. Here is a pic of it:

The only things I don’t like about it (without even using it) is that it doesn’t have a touch screen like my previous camera and it looks a bit too professional. What if I can’t get into concerts with it? hmmm. AND the HD video is only 720p. My last camera took 1080p HD videos. I should have just ordered the same camera. Why didn’t I? ugh.

Leave a Reply

