A heavy choice to make

Countdown:

4 days until my birthday

5 days until my Asheville vacay

29 days until the Ellie Goulding concert

My birthday marks nothing. I’m just going out to eat in my new (to me) Dansko shoes. OMG, those shoes are so heavy! But they are supposed to help with foot pain. Why didn’t anyone mention how heavy they are?  I don’t know what to do. I want to take them to Asheville because I’ll be doing a LOT of walking and I can’t walk a lot without severe pain. My sister had surgery on her feet (or was it a foot?), and I don’t think she’s any better. So this issue is genetic.  Anyway, since I’m renting a car (long story), I don’t want to take a lot of extra stuff I might not even use.

Edited to add: I’ve been walking around the house in these shoes, and I don’t think they’ll be going to Asheville. I will wear them all day on my birthday in order to make a final decision. It’s not like I’m planning to walk a lot on Monday, so I don’t know. Should I make a trip to the mall to window shop to get more steps in these shoes? I might.

The struggle is real. I would laugh, but the foot problem is a real issue. I should probably have been to the doctor decades ago. My mom is warning me that I should see a doctor before it is too late. Oh well. Back to my birthday: another year goes by. I’m not expecting any major gifts. I sort of bought myself a bunch of stuff in April. LOL. Happy early birthday to me.

I did a ton of unboxings on snap chat on Wednesday afternoon. It might be still up if I post this entry in time. (Username: kat3x5). I will be snap chatting my way through Asheville so if you want to see you know where to find me.


Something’s bugging me. Okay, something is always bugging me. What’s wrong with wanting to be left alone? We all must bow down to the needs of social people. WHY? What about OUR needs? The need to be left the fuck alone? No one gives a shit? Just say it!!!

Sorry for the outburst, but that bugs me so much when people are critical of nonsocial people. Everyone isn’t going to be Chatty Cathy. Maybe they have social anxiety, or maybe they are a loner, or maybe something really bad happened to them, or maybe they just aren’t wired to be social. It’s not that complicated.

Embrace diversity…yeah, right. ROFL.


So much is going on. I’m so overwhelmed. I hope nine days of no work helps a little. And maybe going to Asheville will help also. I get to be in nature. However, I just checked the weather, and  it is going to rain while we are there. This is only a problem because it might affect my mom’s arthritis. I don’t know what to do about that. Hopefully, that won’t be an issue. It’s not going to be that warm either. blah.

I hope I get to use the hot tub. I bought a bathing suit for that purpose, so I’m hopping in no matter what.

I really should be repacking. I have too much stuff. I’m usually a light packer, but I’m unsure of the weather. etc. etc.

Enough about Asheville. This may be my last post before I go so I want to get it all in. haha. I was going to do a final Asheville itinerary, but I don’t think I’ll have one until after the weekend. I may post it before I leave.


This week I…

Music of the week: Ellie Goulding, Tori Kelly, Prince, Beyonce, James Blake, John Mayer, Martina McBride, Years & Years

Years & Years is one of the opening acts for Ellie Goulding. I just became familiar with them. I like. I’m curious about how they are live. The other opening act is BeBe Rexha. I already know her music. Love her. I hear she is really good live.

TV of the week:  Bloodline, basketball

Bloodline is so good. I’m rewatching season 1.  I think the second season starts May 27th?! Can’t wait.

Movie of the week:  none

Books of the week:  I wanted some light reading for my trip. Probably not happening. Reading about Prince makes me sad, and it is a 600-page book, so I’m probably going to take a break from Prince the Man and his Music by Matt Thorne. I just checked out Until I Say Good-Bye: A Book About Living by Susan Spencer-Wendel. It is about a woman who learns she has ALS so she does a bunch of things in a year like travel etc. It isn’t exactly light reading, but I’ve had it on my wishlist for a while.

Plans for the weekend: Packing and repacking. I’m also making three mix CDs for the rental car. I’m making one of Prince songs and one of Janet Jackson. And the other will probably be a mix of “new to me” pop music (Beyonce, Bruno Mars, Little Mix).

I was going to shave my legs this weekend for the first time in YEARS. But it doesn’t look like it will be warm enough in Asheville for shorts so what’s the point? I do plan on conforming to society’s standards later this summer. I will shave my legs at least once this summer.

Have a nice weekend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

