My first Lyon + Post review

Lyon and Post or Lyon + Post advertises itself as a try on clothing service. They send you four items that you personally picked. Try them on and keep whatever you want. Send back what you don’t within seven days of receiving the clothes. Free shipping both ways.

Before I share what I received, I’ll give my review of the company. The main con is the price of the clothing. However, they have sales. All of the items I asked for were on sale and affordable. The clothes are worth the high prices. They have brands like DVF, Joie, and Paige Denim. Want to try on a Joie blouse, but can’t afford it?  Or is that just me? 😉 You can try it with Lyon and Post without leaving your house.

To be honest, the only reason why I tried this company was because of the $30 credit I received from someone’s referral link. You can have $30 credit with my link, and then you get a link you can pass on to others. That is one excellent thing about this company. You can use the $30 credit on any item.

Hint: Go to Lyon + Post‘s website and click on shop, then click on sale to see really good deals. You have the $30 credit from clicking on my link so why not try it?

The clothes come in a nice wrapped package with their logo:

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Lyon and post

Here are the four items I picked to receive:

lp1

Brand/name: Ella Moss Ramy fringe poncho cardigan

Cost: 93.80 (on sale from $268)

Verdict: The fact that this on sale at Bloomingdale’s for $140.70 right now makes me want to keep it. I could have it for $63.80 (with the credit)!! It is so soft. Sigh. BUT it is still pricey, and it’s black. I have a dog. He sheds. I will have to part with this, mainly due to the price. I love it, though.

lp2

Brand/name: Bella Luxx shawl neck cardigan

Cost: 88.80 (on sale from $148)

Verdict: Not keeping. Can you tell I have a thing for cardigans? I’m always cold. Anyway, I found this on sale for $59 at Gilt. Only 3 are left as I’m typing this so they will sell out, but I could have it for a lower price if I really wanted it. I’m still not that interested. It feels great on, but it’s just a gray cardigan. It does look better in real life than it that pic, IMO.

lp3

Brand/name: Bella Luxx t-back maxi dress

Cost: 59.20 (on sale from $148)

Verdict: Not keeping. I don’t need another maxi dress. I thought it was going to be sheer, and it’s not. That was a nice surprise. It would only be $29.20 with my credit, but nah. I don’t like it. Too plain.

I can’t find a picture of the jeans. They are described as “Cropped, mid rise skinny jeans with perfect natural waist fit and classic 5-pocket detailing. Standard fit”.Here is a link to the Lyon + Post website with a pic.

Brand/name: Courtshop Mandy cropped straight leg

Cost: 47.25 (on sale from $135)

Verdict: Keeping. These jeans will be 17.25 with my $30 credit. $17.25 for a nice pair of jeans? Score!! I wish they were a half inch longer, but otherwise, I’m happy with the fit. I didn’t know when I picked them (or tried them on) that they were cropped. I don’t like cropped jeans and would never have had them sent, but now I’m glad I have them.

I’m keeping one item and sending the rest back. I don’t want to part with the Ella Moss poncho. 😦 I’m not sending the box back until Thursday, so there is still a small chance I might change my mind. Should I keep the poncho and send the jeans back? Hmmm. I doubt I do that, but there’s still time.

One thing I didn’t know is that you have to send the items back in the same box they send! So be careful opening the box. I thought they were sending a return envelope like Stitch Fix. They provide a shipping label, and you just put it over the label on the box.

This service made me miss LeTote. So I reactivated my LeTote subscription. I know, I know. LeTote is awesome because you get to wear the clothes and not just try them on. I will only use Lyon + Post to try on clothes I want to try, and I’ll only buy when I have credit (thanks to anyone who uses my referral link). If you want to try LeTote, I have a referral link for that too. You can have $25 off your first box by clicking on my link.

Another difference between LeTote and Lyon and Post is that with LeTote, you put a bunch of stuff in your “closet”, and they pick three clothing items and two accessories. You don’t have as much say over what they will send. But I happen to love my box coming early next week. I will do a whole post on LeTote because I have so much to say about the pros and cons of that service.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

