Pretend you’re good at it

I know hiding under tables and bathrooms isn’t normal. I know that I’ve carved out a life that lets me hide when I need to because I wouldn’t survive any other way.

-Jen Lawson

AMEN! That is exactly what I’ve done. Call me avoidant or whatever. But I’m doing what I can to freaking survive! People call me crazy all the time. Their loss. ROFL. 😉

I realized it would have sounded a bit crazy, but that made sense. After all, I was a bit crazy. And I didn’t have to pretend to be good at it. I was a damn natural.

OMG. This girl is speaking my language. No more quotes from the book for now.

———-

I was going to congratulate Bruce Springsteen for canceling his concert in North Carolina over their new homophobic law. But then I realized I’m going to North Carolina TWICE this spring. I’m going for a birthday vacation in the mountains (Asheville), and I’m going for an Ellie Goulding concert. Oh well. What am I supposed to do? Cancel? Yeah, right. Bruce is a better person than me. That’s for sure.

(In my defense, I made plans for all this well before there was talk of an anti-LGBT law).

I’m worried about Ellie Goulding. She recently broke up with her boyfriend, and there is other stuff going on with her that is more gossipy so I won’t say it. I can say that her US shows aren’t going great. I keep forgetting that Ellie isn’t a big star in the States. I was thinking it was going to be fun, but the crowd in San Diego was dead. What if the people in North Carolina are like that too?  I have lowered my standards for the concert (due to the audience, not Ellie). This makes me sad for her. She could have canceled the US leg of the tour. She is going through a rough time. 😦

I finally got my parking for the Tori Kelly concert sort of figured out. I can only park in the venue’s parking garage starting at 7 PM! The concert starts at 8. There’s no way I’m arriving in DC at 7. I don’t even know what the traffic will be like because I haven’t driven in DC in forever (usually take a bus). So I’m going to Woodbridge, VA (Potomac Mills) for a few hours and then head to DC around 6. I hope that works out. I do have a GPS with traffic so it should be able to tell me how bad traffic is. I’m just going to walk around Ikea for those hours.

The Tori Kelly concert is in 8 days. I can’t even think too much about it. Overwhelm. I’m going to make myself get everything ready by this weekend.

This week I…

Music of the week: Ellie Goulding, Kanye West, Shania Twain, Demi Lovato, Sia, Fifth Harmony, Coldplay, Little Mix

TV of the week:  House of Cards, basketball

Movie of the week:  I finally saw Spotlight! Where do I begin? It is just a documentary. I love documentaries, but calling a movie a documentary is not a good thing. I give it 4 out of 5 stars. I watched it twice. Maybe going into it completely blind (which seems impossible) makes the movie better, but I already knew most of that stuff. I didn’t know details, of course. It was good, but I don’t get the big deal. What a letdown.

Books of the week:  I finished  A Mother’s Reckoning: Living in the Aftermath of Tragedy by Sue Klebold. I did a blog post about it below.

I’m now trying to finish Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things by Jenny Lawson. This book is good, but she tries too hard at being funny. I would rather have a straight bio than a “funny” bio filled with bad jokes. I still appreciate the book, but I’m in no rush to finish it.

Plans for the weekend: Working on my practicum will be my #1 priority. I also have errands to run. In other words, I’m not doing anything fun this weekend. I’ll probably make some time to sit outside with my dog and get some reading done.

I’m looking forward to my first Lyon + Post package. I’m only doing it because Nicole posted a referral link and that gave me $30 in credit to spend on anything. This is my referral link that also gives anyone $30 to use on clothes from that site.  I’m going to do a post on that experience early next week. I’ll go into more detail on the service. I’m only keeping one thing since I have the credit. Thanks so much Nicole (for the referral and introducing me to the company)!

Have a nice weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

