My first Stitch Fix!

Most people reading this probably know what Stitch Fix is. I’ll do a brief synopsis of the service. It is a clothing styling service. You pay a $20 styling fee for a stylist to send you 5 items (clothes, jewelry, handbags, shoes etc.) You pay for what you want to keep, send the rest back. Free shipping.

Now let’s get to the fun part!

I feel that overall, my stylist (Amy) did a great job sending me what I was looking for. The only weird things are the price points are a little higher than what I asked for, and I only pinned boot legged jeans on my Pinterest board, but she sent skinny jeans. Here is what I received:

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Jesse maxi dress

Brand/name: Loveapella Jesse Maxi Dress

Cost: $78

Verdict: Keeping. It’s gorgeous. I LOVE it. I can’t wait to wear this with my denim jacket.

Brand/name: Just Black Adorra Skinny Jean (in mint)

Cost: $88

Verdict: Keeping. I would never have bought mint jeans for myself, but they fit well. My camera didn’t capture the color well but another blogger received them, and she has a pic.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Dawson crochet shoulder knit top

Brand/name: Papermoon Dawson Crochet Shoulder Knit Top

Cost: $54

Verdict: Keeping. It hangs too low in the front, but that’s probably my fault. I asked for a medium in blouses even though I’m a size small. I like my tops to be relaxed fit, but not this relaxed. I’m still going to wear it so it is worth the price.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Windermere lace sleeve blouse

Brand/name: 41Hawthorn Windermere Lace Sleeve Blouse

 

Cost: $54

Verdict: Keeping. Same as above. A tad too big. But I’m going to rock it anyway. I will invest in a strapless bra, so these blouses look better, and I will probably change my blouse size to small for future fixes.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Jacey striped reversible tote

Brand/name: Street Level Jacey Striped Reversible Tote

Cost: $62

Verdict:  Keeping. I love bags, but this one falls into the ‘like’ category. I only kept it for the “buy 5” discount. I asked for a specific purse that is not in stock anymore, so I got this one instead. The inside of the bag is tan. I have enough tan bags, so I won’t ever reverse it.

Yes, I’m keeping all 5 items!! I love the jeans and the maxi dress. The two blouses are very nice, but a little too big. And the purse is just alright. Since I’m keeping all 5 items, I get a 25% discount. My total is $232. Ouch. I’m not used to spending this much on clothes. I wanted to do a birthday fix (May 16th), but my wallet will NOT allow it. 😦

I had a great experience with my first fix. Amy looked at my Pinterest board and could tell what I would like. I’m sort of amazed. How did she know I love lace so much? I guess between my note to her and my pins, she figured it out. 😉 I’m not sure when I’m doing another one. I want to do either Trunk Club or Stitch Fix for fall clothing. (Read my Trunk Club review). I don’t know if I will buy anything in between since all this is very expensive (to me). Besides, I have enough clothes for now.

Edited to add: Ahhh! I found out about a new service. It is called Lyon + Post.  Thanks to Nicole for the $30 credit. If you click that link, you get a $30 credit. I’m getting 4 items next week and I will be doing a blog post on my experience. It’s an online clothing try-on service. You get to pick what is sent to you. And you only keep what you want to pay for. LOVE it.

4 thoughts on “My first Stitch Fix!

  1. Hi,
    I’m looking to buy Street Level Jacey Striped Reversible Tote for my mother as a gift but can’t find it anywhere online for sale. Are you interested in selling yours? And if not, do you know where I can buy this tote?
    Thanks,
    T

    • Hi,

      I don’t know where to get the bag. I’m willing to sell my bag BUT I did use it twice so it would be considered used. It is like new. I don’t see any signs of wear. I’m willing to sell it for $45. $40 for the bag and $5 for shipping/paypal fees (assuming you live in the US). Let me know if you are still interested. I can mail it on Saturday. Thanks!

      • Hi,
        Sorry for the delay (didn’t get any notification of your reply) But YES I will buy it. $45 sound great – can PayPal you the $. Let me know of your paypal email or you can email me tommik@comcast.net and I’ll send it.
        Many thanks again!!!
        Tom

Leave a Reply

