Trunk Club review (#1)

Trunk Club is a styling service for men and women. If you live near a Trunk Club office, you can go in person and get styled, or you can have the clothes delivered to you. I had the clothes delivered to me. They have offices in Chicago, Dallas, LA, NYC, and DC. I’m planning to go to their office in DC to get personally styled. But I want to have enough money to splurge, so that is on hold. You keep and pay for what you like and send the rest back (free shipping both ways). There isn’t a styling fee.  All of my clothes came from Nordstrom, but I think they can pull clothes from other places as well.

I asked for a low price point and a casual maxi dress or skirt. I also told her I work from home and that I dress conservatively. Here is what my stylist (Brooke) sent me:

trunk1

Brand: Love, Fire

Cost: $52

Verdict:  I’m keeping this. I love maxi dresses, and this one fits. Love the color.

trunk2

Brand: Splendid

Cost: $178

Verdict:  Sending back. Um, vertical stripes?? NO. I don’t like this dress at all. It’s a little too dressy and definitely too pricey.

trunk3

Brand: Splendid

Cost: $68

Verdict: Sending back. Not my style and $68 for a t-shirt? It also hangs a little too low.

trunk4

Brand: Caslon

Cost: $68

Verdict: Sending back. I was so excited to receive this, but the fabric is too thin. Not worth it.

trunk5

Brand: Stem

Cost: $41 (on sale)

Verdict: Sending back. Way too long. I like it, but it drags on the floor.

trunk6

Brand: Halogen

Cost: $68

Verdict: Keeping. I didn’t want to like this dress, but I do. I hate showing my legs, but I will wear pantyhose and a tall pair of boots. Winner.

trunk7

Brand: Nordstrom

Cost: $28

Verdict: Sending back. Just a pair of simple leggings. Nothing special. See below.

trunk8

Brand: Two by Vince Camuto

Cost: $49

Verdict: Sending back. I LOVE these, but they are too big. She sent a medium; I need a small. Maybe she will resend these to me? Or I may buy them straight from Nordstroms if my stylist isn’t responsive. They are so nice. They are called leggings but they are more like slacks. I don’t have a pair of black slacks.

Update: Brooke is sending me the above leggings in a size small. I’m not getting another trunk for now.

Overall, I’m pleased with the items. I’m only keeping 2 out of 7, but I liked 3 out of 7. One is a sizing issue. I hear they expect you to keep at least 1-2 items per trunk so not bad.

———–

Most trunks come with 15 items, but since I asked for items below $75, she sent what she called a “small trunk.” I would NOT recommend going that low. I would ask for items below $125-$150 if I had to do it again. The stylist will tell you that Trunk Club is a premium clothing service and blah, blah. So don’t ask for clothes under $75 even though they do have clothes under that price point, they clearly don’t like being asked for that. (Not based only on my experience, but also reading the experience of others).

From all the research I’ve done, I feel confident Trunk Club is a good company. However, it is all about the stylist. There are a few bad apples out there. They don’t respond to emails or on the app. Brooke will call you as soon as you sign up. That’s what she did with me a few months ago. She responds quickly to messages and will treat you with respect. I recommend her. I haven’t heard one bad word about her.

I will update this post if Brooke decides to send a follow-up trunk like many stylists do.

I’m getting my first Stitch Fix on April 14th. I’m excited to try them. Their clothes cost less than Trunk Club.  I will do a short entry on SF when I get my first box. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

