Lesson unlearned

My voice was stolen from me.

-Roxane Gay

I  want to say you don’t have to be sexually assaulted to have PTSD or to feel broken. You can be broken without something physically violent happening. Emotional pain is pain too.

I just saw this Ted Talk from Roxane Gay. I related so much; I started to cry. The part where she starts talking about “her incident” starts at about 9:35.

 

They treated me like I was nothing. I began to believe I was nothing. They stole my voice and in the after  I did not dare to believe that anything I could say could matter. But I had writing. And there I wrote myself back together.

– Roxane Gay

I have a hard time putting into words what happened to me all those years ago. Here’s what happened:

They treated me like I was nothing. I began to believe I was nothing. They stole so much of me. I haven’t fully recovered.

It is easy to say to get over it, or it is only words (in my case). But it is so much harder to LIVE that. I did have a few physical incidents happen to me, but the words hurt more. The words left the long lasting effect.

This is just a piece of me I wanted to share today. I’m giving people permission to acknowledge their emotional pain.

