The thrill is gone

The Grammys. Um, I’m glad D’Angelo won best R&B album, and Ed Sheeran deserved song of the year. Mostly everything else was a big WTF?

The performances were average overall. I’m getting sick of the forced duets. The first year they did it, it was nice because it was different. Now they do it every year.

I did enjoy (in no particular order) Carrie Underwood, Kendrick Lamar, Hamilton, Demi Lovato, Tori Kelly & James Bay, Lady Gaga, Andra Day and the first half of Justin Bieber. Demi was great during the Lionel Richie tribute. Of course the cast of Hamilton was superb. They just did what they normally do.

I have to admit that I got into bed after the Best New Artist award, so I didn’t see 20% of the show. About Best New Artist: I have nothing against Meghan Trainor. She’s talented. She writes. She doesn’t have the best voice, but she can sing live. I think she just won due to name recognition. Tori Kelly? James Bay? Only hardcore music fans know who they even are. The voters don’t know how talented Tori and James are. They probably only know their “hits”…if that!

So I understand how she won. She is a bigger star than everyone else in the category.

I don’t have strong feelings for Album of the Year. I didn’t love any of the albums nominated, so I didn’t care who won. I thought Kendrick Lamar would win but going back to the Meghan Trainor thing…More people have heard (and like) Taylor Swift’s 1989 than Kendrick’s album. So no shock there.

I’m disappointed in the show this year. Next year probably won’t be better. Adele will be nominated and win everything. Sigh. Hopefully, the performances will be better. That is what I usually watch the Grammy’s for. I felt like I wasted 3 hours of my life last night. hah.

