I dance on my own

I don’t know exactly how affirmative action works, but the people staunchly against it… How many of them got jobs because of their relatives? Or got into college or got that internship because of someone they knew? Hell yeah, I’m bitter. I never got shit from anyone because I don’t know anyone. Bottom of the totem pole.

I always thought affirmative action should be economically based. HOWEVER, like I said I don’t know much about how AA works. I’m saying flat out that I’m ignorant about most of it. So don’t slam me for the economic statement. (A lot of people I admire thinks it shouldn’t be economically based).

People suck.  That statement has nothing to do with affirmative action. They just suck. I have to say this at least every few months. Sometimes – most of the time – people piss me off. Just when I feel safe, someone triggers me. I can’t say more because if the person is reading this (HIGHLY unlikely), they will keep doing it and my life will be hell.

Not much going on this weekend. On Saturday,  I’m working a little over half a day. On Sunday, I’m going shopping at Target. If I go to the gym, it will be Sunday after Target. I’m definitely going to spend some time reading outside since it will be so warm. (Well, warm for December. 75 degrees).

This week I…

Music of the week:  Maria Mena, Courtney Barnett, Jessie Ware, Chris Stapleton, Ellie Goulding, A Great Big World, Demi Lovato, Alessia Cara

song of the week: Maria Mena – I Don’t Wanna See You With Her

What does Maria have to do to make it big in the United States? Nice voice, great lyrics. Sigh. She is finally using her voice better on her recordings. Her new album is album of the year material. It could be her best album.

TV of the week: Pretty Little Liars, basketball

I have a serious issue. Serious. I’m afraid to watch my teams play basketball. When I watch, they lose. I’m jinxing them. It’s all my fault! I’m being dramatic here. Obvs. But for the first time, I feel like I’m really jinxing my teams so I haven’t been watching much of the end of basketball games recently. Yes, I know that is nuts.

I’m also addicted to news. But that has been going on for years. Not a new issue.

Movie of the week:  The One I Love I love Elisabeth Moss. The movie? Not so much. It was okay.

Books of the week:  I have so many books to read!  I kind of went nuts checking books out from the library and now I have so many to read in a short period of time. I may not finish all of them. I did finish Rising Strong by Brene Brown and  The Center Cannot Hold: My Journey Through Madness by Elyn Saks. I recommend both.

If you are a person with mental illness, the challenge is to find the life that’s right for you. But in truth, isn’t that the challenge for all us, mentally ill or not?

– Elyn Saks (simply brilliant)

Currently reading:

These are the books I plan to finish before the end of the year. I hope I don’t get any more books off my hold list.

Planner update:

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
plans of the week
