excuse me if I seem like an antisocial pessimist

Shaun King (writer/activist) liked my Instagram photo of his book. I totally fan girled. I heart him and his work.

I got the HUGE (say it like Donald Trump would) check from my debt consolidation loan. I have never had that much money in my bank account in my life. But I paid my credit cards with that money so it won’t be there once all the payments get processed. Yes, I will have a little left over. It felt the best to pay off Discover. That was my first credit card. I paid it off every month for 3 years…until I went away to college and I needed money to buy books and pay for classes. I only had a $200 balance when I paid it off. But it felt good to say Fuck You to Discover. Never again.

I’m really worried about hurricane/tropical storm Joaquin. The governor declared a state of emergency. I live in the suburbs, 3 minutes away from the city, but it is like a rural area. If the power goes out, it could be out for a while. I would have to go into the office for work. (oh my!) Some of my plans for next week may fall through if this storm is anything like Isabel in 2003. We went without power for more than a week. Other people went MONTHS without power.

Plans for my 3-day vacay from work next week:

  • Wednesday:  Stay in. Major fall cleaning. I want to throw everything away, but the environmentalists are making me feel bad about that. :/ So I may donate some things to the Goodwill. I will also assemble my new clothes rack.
  • Thursday: Go to spin class, the library, and then home for a *******cheat day!****** with food from a local Italian restaurant.
  • Friday: Go to a health screening for my health insurance (voluntary) and then I wanted to go the movies but none of the theaters have movie times for The Intern as of right now. So I don’t know. It probably won’t happen. Instead, I will go to the gym again or mow the lawn for the last time this year (weather permitting). Gotta work off those cheese fries.
  • Saturday:  Stay in. Finish any fall cleaning.
  • Sunday: Stay in

That is what I will be doing with my time off. Isn’t that exciting? 😉 I’m most looking forward to fall cleaning day. I never say that, but I just want to get rid of everything. I will fill my big trash can. And I will have bags full of items for donation. I can’t wait to get my rack up and hang my clothes up. Pics coming! woohoo 😉

I may have ordered some winter clothes from Forever 21 (my fave). Perhaps I talked myself into that purchase by saying these were the final pieces of my winter capsule wardrobe. Not that I really do a capsule wardrobe but when you work from home, how many pieces of clothing do you need? Everything I ordered except one thing is gray. The new items will go with everything.

I’m still obsessing over my across the United States road trip. I have mapped out where I will be spending the night. I will need at least a week and a half to do this. I wanted to do it in a week, but that isn’t going to happen because I refuse to drive more than 7 hours a day. I’m definitely going to fly back home from San Francisco.

I’m willing to stay in hostels. It will be cheaper that way, but I plan to sleep from 4 pm to midnight on some days so I can drive through the night. I probably won’t get much sleep in a hostel. Hell, even in a hotel that might be hard. Anyhow, here are my overnight stops as of this moment:

  1. Atlanta, GA
  2. New Orleans, LA
  3. Austin, TX
  4. Corpus Christi, TX
  5. Fort Worth, TX
  6. Kansas
  7. Denver, CO
  8. Utah
  9. Arizona (Grand Canyon)
  10. Los Angeles, CA
  11. San Francisco, CA

I wish I were also going to make stops in Oregon, Nebraska and Oklahoma. I really tried to get them on the list, but it didn’t work out. All the stops have something I’m interested in except…Fort Worth. I’m just stopping there because I’ll need a break.

I want to pay for my Asheville, NC trip tonight. (Taking place in May 2016) But that feels too risky. I need to reserve my cabin before it is too late, but I have no idea when “too late” is. I also have no idea how bad the winter will be and how much my electric bill will be and other house repairs. I dunno….

Can you tell that I like to list things? 😉

This week I…

Music of the week: James Bay, Leona Lewis, Miranda Lambert, Carly Rae Jepsen, Jewel, The Weeknd, Lucy Hale

TV of the week:  How to Get Away With Murder (season 1), Homeland (season 4)

I take back what I said last week about How to Get Away with Murder. It isn’t Homeland, but it is very good for network TV. I’m hooked. I won’t watch season 2 until it is over. I’m patient when it comes to TV. I’m rewatching Homeland season 4 because I loved it so much.

Movies of the week:  none

Books of the week:  Still reading Soul Shifts: Transformative Wisdom for Creating a Life of Authentic Awakening, Emotional Freedom, &  Practical Spirituality by Dr. Barbara De Angelis. I also started Miss Minimalist: Inspiration to Downsize, Declutter, and Simplify by Francine Jay.

I’m checking out 3 books from the library next week. Can’t wait to start those.

Planner update: 

plans of the week
plans of the week
