Lay it down and let it go

Work has been crazy busy. But I still find time to read, listen to music and nap almost daily. That is why I don’t need books like Essentialism: The Disciplined Pursuit of Less  I know how to “play” each day. I know how important sleep is. I get up at 5:45 AM (on work days) and get off at 3 PM. After work, I listen to music and take a nap. Then it is dinner time. After that, I either go back to work or I work on my practicum. Then I’m free to do whatever needs to be done. Around 8 or 9 PM, I usually listen to more music and/or read. I tend to go to bed at 10 unless I want to get up earlier than 5:45.

So that is my day in a nutshell. All of that to explain why I’m not going to finish reading Essentialism. I don’t think I need it.

I have my first OB/GYN appointment next week. I’m nervous, but I really haven’t had time to dwell on it. I know I will be freaking out once I get to the office. I have a half day of work in the morning then I’ll be off to the doctor. AHHHHHH!

Guess who just got her 10 year work anniversary gift? I have to LOL at the timing. Work. :/ Yes, I have been there 10 years but not in the same department. How rare is that these days? Anyway, I got a nice ink pen and I will be receiving a portable DVD player in a week or two. Hopefully, I will take the DVD player with me when I travel to Asheville, NC next May. I will probably only use it during travel because every portable DVD player I’ve had broke within a year of use. Has anyone else had this experience? It can’t be about them being cheap because I’ve had them at different price points.

I know the universe is trying to get me to leave my job BUT if it were really the fucking universe, it should know that if I leave before June 2016, I will be in a load of trouble. (long story. I’d rather not get into it right now.) OTOH, I’m looking forward to being able to leave. But not until June. Understandably, I don’t want to be forced out.

This week I…

Music of the week: Ellie Goulding, Carly Rae Jespen, Laura Welsh, Jordin Sparks, Bea Miller, Tori Kelly, Rico Love, Joss Stone

The moment when you are glad you discovered an artist, but then they say something about hitting their girlfriend. I’m looking at Rico Love. Maybe I misinterpreted the lyrics. I don’t even know which song it was. He is so talented. A great writer but that ish isn’t cool.

TV of the week: Big Brother, Curb Your Enthusiasm

It is so fun watching old episodes of Curb! I’m watching season 2 now. One of the best. shows. ever.

Movies of the week:  None

Books of the week:  I just started reading The Power of 100! Kickstart Your Dreams, Build Momentum, and Discover Unlimited Possibility by Shaun King (yes, THAT Shaun King) I’m not reading this book for motivation (enough of that shit). I’m reading it because I’m interested in him.  I’m 40% through  Luther: The Life and Longing of Luther Vandross by Craig Seymour. Fascinating stuff. I’m learning so much about Luther. Like I said, I’m not a Luther fan but this makes me want to listen to his music. I am familiar with his music. I just never really got into it. I think I have a music plan for next week. 😉

Planner update:

plans of the week

plans of the week

I didn’t get a lot of ‘personal’ to-dos done because I have been working very long hours.

I’m looking forward to relaxing this weekend with my dog. 🙂 This week has been sooooo stressful. Music, books, nature, and sleeping. That’s it.

