The decision

While I’m glad James Holmes did not get the death penalty, I have to say that if he were black he would have gotten it. Whites get the benefit of doubt. “Maybe he was mentally ill…” Do blacks get that same benefit of doubt? NO. All of the people on death row in Colorado are black. The death penalty is racist and should be abolished.

In Colorado, Blacks Are 4 Percent Of The Population And 100 Percent Of Death Row Inmates

/end rant

I will add that me wanting life in prison for Holmes didn’t have a lot to do with mental illness. The death penalty is barbaric. And if I hear one more story of an innocent person being on death row…So that is why I’m against it. It isn’t fair. Innocent people have been killed. Do I have to go on?

James Holmes did/does have social anxiety. And perhaps some sort of schizoid disorder. (The prosecution didn’t want anyone to believe the latter).  But I do think he was legally sane at the time of the murders. I think he was just lashing out. He was frustrated. All of a sudden he wasn’t doing well in school (due to oral presentations) and his first girlfriend broke up with him. I’m looking at this through the lens of someone with SA. He didn’t see other alternatives. I wish he would’ve killed himself instead of killing others. 😦 Did he have a psychotic break? Maybe. I don’t know. It’s possible but like I said this has nothing to do with me wanting him to get life in prison instead of the death penalty.

Edited to add: Holmes did TRY to get help. The system failed. This could’ve been prevented. If only the therapist/hospital had told someone exactly what he said.

I think Holmes would rather die than spend the rest of his life locked up. His family are the only ones slightly relieved.  I wouldn’t be surprised if he commits suicide. He already told the shrink how bored he was in jail. He is miserable (as he should be). Punishment fits the crime. Let him live for 60 more years in solitude. THAT IS THE DEATH PENALTY. He is getting what he deserves. Death is a gift. Why give him that?

