Why can’t I be careless?

I got my first “I’m too smart to need Nutrisystem”. Well, good for you! I didn’t need it, of course. But I wanted to do something. I didn’t want to continue gaining so I tried something. I think I needed discipline. I wasn’t going to spend all this money on NS and NOT follow the plan. I was always intrigued by having food sent to me. I chose NS because I had heard the most about them (great advertising!).  After the experience I’ve had, I would recommend NS. But there are caveats:

  • High in sodium. This is controversial for some reason. I will never understand why. This is one of the reasons I would not want to stay on NS forever. I’m scared the sodium will give me high blood pressure. My BP is fine at this moment but who knows what a few more months would do? Some people claim drinking lots of water washes out the sodium. I have no idea whether this is true. I don’t drink as much water as I should on most days. I would tell other people to ask their doctor before starting…especially if high BP runs in their family.
  • Processed foods. Most people know that going in due to the advertising.
  • High in carbs. I love carbs so not an issue for me.
  • Expensive. Some people say it is less than what they spent prior to NS, but all those people admit to eating out. I rarely eat out because I can’t afford it so NS is expensive to me. There are numerous ways to get the price down. Please don’t go on the website and sign up unless there is a special. My biggest complaint is that some people pay $200 while others pay $400 for the exact same plan. Not cool.

The good outweighs the bad for me. My current weight is 128. I’m still trying to get to 125. Buddha willing. 🙂

One more important thing: It is not just about the food! If the person is willing to learn, they will learn HOW to eat so they can get off Nutrisystem. A few years ago this wasn’t the case but now (credit to NS), there are tools to teach you once you leave the program. Some people consider this a diet, but I consider it how I should have been eating all along: 5-6 small meals a day.

