The Charade

I’m not gone yet. I leave tomorrow. I had to post about this article I just read. It is about suicide.

I think we can do something to change one aspect of the story…or maybe not. I know what it is like to feel suicidal. Instagram and blogs have nothing to do with it. I know it is fake but unfortunately younger people don’t quite get it.

Everyone presents an edited version of life on social media. People share moments that reflect an ideal life, an ideal self….

With Instagram, one thing has changed: the amount we consume of one another’s edited lives. Young women growing up on Instagram are spending a significant chunk of each day absorbing others’ filtered images while they walk through their own realities, unfiltered. In a recent survey conducted by the Girl Scouts, nearly 74 percent of girls agreed that other girls tried to make themselves look “cooler than they are” on social networking sites.

I rarely post on instagram but maybe I’m guilty of it too. When I do post, I try to make it seem as if things are all right. I think it’s toxic. Part of the problem is probably the business accounts that can’t show sadness. And then everyone else follows suit. “Everything is great”.

God forbid you complain about something, or say you are swamped, overwhelmed or just plain busy. Blogs are like this too now. You can’t even complain in your own *%$ing blog. LOL. What is going on? It’s the business of the blogs. Everyone thinks they have to be happy because the business blogs are. The business blogs are what most people read these days. Blogs like mine are rare.

Checking Instagram is like opening a magazine to see a fashion advertisement. Except an ad is branded as what it is: a staged image on glossy paper.

Instagram is passed off as real life.

Yes, people filter their photos to make them prettier. People are also often encouraged to put filters on their sadness, to brighten their reality so as not to “drag down” those around them. The myth still exists that happiness is a choice, which perpetuates the notion of depression as weakness.

Life must be Instagrammed — in more ways than one.

It doesn’t have to be that way! Don’t instagram your life. I know many people won’t read my blog because I refuse to put a filter on my life. I think that’s strange. I prefer reality. I crave reality. I can’t stand the fictitious look of it all.

This story is very sad and moving. It isn’t about instagram. She didn’t kill herself over instagram. (but it sure didn’t help her). She was depressed and she felt like she couldn’t express it. Don’t worry about dragging others down. Speak your truth. Don’t always put on a happy face.

Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter don’t mind.

– Bernard M. Baruch

