Follow through

I had a decent NYE! That never happens when I stay home.  I usually go away for NYE but this year I didn’t (because of the dog and finances). Nothing happened. That is a good thing! 😉 Usually there are people shooting guns or fireworks. Nothing. I fell asleep around 11PM while listening to a mental health podcast. I woke up at 12:05AM. I was thrilled. Then I just turned my lights off and went to sleep for real. I know how to party. I’m so glad this time of year is over. I survived!!

Note: I typed everything below the line BEFORE I took B to doggy daycare for the day.

I took B to daycare for the first time today. It was something I wanted to do once a month, just for socialization. I didn’t want to HAVE TO do it. However, I had a lot to do today and I didn’t want to come back to a mess and a stressed out dog so I left him there for 8 hours today. According to the owner, he did very well (Thank Buddha – I was worried) and he’s a total mama’s boy. lol. Also:

1. He is shy around people.

2. He didn’t play with the other 2 small dogs. He didn’t even care that they were there!

THIS IS SOOOOOOOOOO MY DOG! hahaha.

Well, I’m glad that it went well. I don’t know what to make of him not playing with the other dogs. I assumed he would like that. I was wrong. Hopefully I will not have to make this a habit. He was so happy to see me. One more thing: He came back a mess. I would have been pissed if I had given him a professional bath and he came back looking like that. In their defense, it was raining.

———–

The title of this entry should be “This is why I don’t have kids”. But that would make sense. The dog is driving me nuts. I can’t tell you how many times a day I think this is exactly why I don’t have kids. Cause I don’t want to deal with this crap! And now I have this dog that is like a really bad toddler.

He has serious separation anxiety and aggressive issues (not towards me…yet). If I worked outside the house, I could not even think of keeping this dog. NO WAY. My mom says she would take him back to the shelter. I don’t know how I feel. I don’t love this dog. I sort of like him. He is just so much trouble! But he is really cute and everyone says that to me. And I want to say “do you want to take him home?” or “try living with him”.

Maybe obedience school would help. I don’t see it solving his real issues. The plan was to start obedience school on January 25 but I used the money on something else. Something not fun. I can remove the apprentice on my title when I finish the practicum I purchased. It will take me probably a year to finish it. And then I won’t have to put apprentice on my resume anymore.

Back to the dog: Perhaps the vet will have a solution. I don’t have an appointment yet. It depends on whether they open on MLK day. I might have that day off. All I know is that I will not be working all day. If there was an easy solution, he probably wouldn’t have ended up in the shelter in the first place. As far as the “medicine” goes, I think Nutri-Vet Pet-Ease Wafers works the best but nothing works if he is really wound up. I haven’t noticed the Anti-Stress Pills working but I don’t really know. Hard to tell.

In good news, he seems to be somewhat house trained. I don’t feel good saying he is 100% there but the crate is working…and taking him outside a lot.

Weekly

Music for the week: Mary J. Blige, Whitney Houston, Sam Smith, Ariana Grande, D’Angelo, Lea Michele, Jonatha Brooke, Ani DiFranco

TV for the week: House of Cards, basketball

I see new things every time I watch House of Cards. I’m about to start a Twilight Zone marathon. I LOVED that show as a kid.

Movie of the week: The Rage: Carrie 2 

Book of the week: Coming Clean: A Memoir by Kimberly Rae Miller

I’m only on page 47. I’m sure it gets good. I just have to get into it.

Knitting projects of the week: I started another cowl. I had to do one in purple. This yarn is thinner so it is taking forever. The last one took about 2 weeks. This one will take at least 3. There isn’t much to show but here is the yarn:

 

start of cowl

start of cowl

Still working on a scarf, my lace project and my afghan. Pics of those in the coming weeks…hopefully next week.

