Mary just don’t give a damn

Um, I know it is important (?) but if I hear one more word about the “Sony Hack” and “The Interview”…. ::News off::

———

B
B

Everyone else in the lobby was happy to get their new dog or cat back from being spayed or neutered. I was stressed. haha. That is so typical of me. Seriously I feel like he is bored here and I don’t know what to do. He doesn’t love his toys*. He is not a chewer (thank Buddha??). I take him outside a lot. I don’t have a fenced in yard so I have to walk him on a leash. But I can’t constantly take him out when I’m working. Sigh. Puppy problems. I no longer leave him in his crate during the day, only at night.

*A couple hours after I typed this, he played with his toy for over 30 minutes. So maybe there is hope! yay.

I want a happy dog. Who wouldn’t? He looks at me with those big brown (sad?) eyes and I melt. I thought I was the animal whisperer. I could read their minds. Call me crazy but this is/was true. I’m more animal than human. (Forget that humans are animals for a sec). I hate to admit this but I’m more of a cat person but I can’t have cats for health reasons. 😦

Eventually obedience school will be happening. That’s something to do. He’ll have a blast. That lasts 6 weeks. I’d rather take a local knitting class (lol)  and make my first pair of socks but I can’t do both. I am thinking about taking the knitting class in March. We can bring our own pattern and she will help us make it. Enough about knitting. I would love to take B to a dog park soon.

I have plans but nothing is happening right now. Trying to work and watch after this dog is like watching a toddler when he isn’t sleeping. I don’t have kids for a reason. My dog was 17. I forgot what the puppy years were like plus I had my mom’s help.

End of adventures in puppy-land.

I’m only on episode 4 of Serial. No spoilers please. 😉 I like to listen to it on the weekends when I can give it my full attention. Everyone is spoiling it now because in their world, it is over.

Other random stuff: I’m cancelling one of my book subscriptions. Finally. I was going to cancel so I could get my dog health insurance but Consumer Reports claims that pet insurance usually isn’t worth the price. (Are they referring to middle class people AKA people with money or ALL people? Should I consider it since I’m barely making it? They didn’t mention that so I’m still a little conflicted). I’ve had that book subscription for over a decade. Sad to see it go but I could use the money. I’m going to miss it when I have to go to the library more. I hate returning books to the library. I love checking out though.

I also canceled my Netflix DVD plan. I’m not as sad to see that go.

Weekly

Music for the week: D’Angelo, Kacey Musgraves, Mary J. Blige, Magic!, Ani DiFranco, Carrie Underwood, Sam Smith, Sharon Van Etten

Being a fan of D’Angelo is frustrating. Like most hardcore fans, I had heard 80% of the album years ago (mostly from concerts – including one I attended). I had NO CLUE that he hadn’t recorded all the songs in a studio. WTF? He rushed recording the album due to what happened in Ferguson! That would be fine if I thought the songs sounded finished. I wondered why they were so short. Since when does D do a 5 minute song?? Don’t get me wrong, I love the album. I’m just disappointed to hear that he rushed the studio recordings. What could have been….

TV for the week: Pretty Little Liars, Colbert Report, basketball

Movie of the week:  none. Will I ever watch a movie again? Stay tuned. 🙂 I usually go to the movies on Xmas day but I gotta work and then go to my mom’s house plus NBA basketball is on ALL day.  I miss my movie tradition. I will go back to going to the movies on Dec 25….just not this year.

Book of the week: Man’s Search For Meaning by Viktor E. Frankl

Knitting projects of the week: I started a cowl on Monday. I was hoping to have it finished by today. ROFL. I’m a slow knitter. This is great practice but I’m not sure it will be useful. I couldn’t find a pattern with my yarn so I just made something up. I cast on about 105 stitches with a 16 inch circular needle and just started knitting. I think this is going to be too small. Bummer! I love the colors and really want to wear it. Here it is so far:

cowl
cowl

And here is my scarf.

scarf
scarf

I’m starting to like the colors. That yarn would have been perfect for a cowl but I don’t think I have enough for a cowl. I hope I have enough for the scarf!

Later.

