still not too old to die young

I’m not going to see anyone on Thanksgiving. Some people find that pathetic. Some people are like “hell yeah!” 🙂 Those are my peeps. lol. I feel weird on holidays but I don’t  like celebrating them so……I will probably have a movie marathon on Thursday after work. Normally I would watch football but that is no longer a joy. I can’t remember the last time I ate at a thanksgiving dinner. I’m just glad I don’t HAVE TO sit somewhere and be bored out of my mind. Bored? Forget that. Uncomfortable is more what I would feel.

Something very cool is happening on T-giving: a tour of a local wildlife sanctuary!! Um, #1 It will be cold (nuff said?) and #2 I probably can’t do all that walking (Vegas, anyone?). I know I have leg problems. If I sign up for the tour KNOWING that, that would be foolish and a tad selfish but I still think about going. “Maybe it won’t be so bad”. blah, blah, That is what I always tell myself and then I start limping. Eventually the pain is too much and I can barely walk. So….ugh.They seem to only do tours on Thanksgiving and Xmas. I doubt I could keep up but it sounds like an awesome thing to do. Woe is me.

I just got back from spin class. I sat up front this time. I just feel too out of shape for spin. But I did do better this time than last time. I don’t know whether I’m going back. I think I should eat something before I go because I felt weak during class but that means I would have to get up earlier. I get up at 5:20 AM Monday through Saturday. Can I at least not have to get up early on Sundays? Anyhow, at least I went. Trust me, I did not want to go this morning. It is 60 minutes of hardcore exercise. It feels good afterwards but during, I just want to get out of there. It is the longest hour…ever!

Weekly

Music for the week: Jessie J,  Jennifer Nettles, Tristan Prettyman, Patti LuPone, Ellie Goulding, Nina Simone, Mandy Patinkin, Ariana Grande

I didn’t listen to music much this week but those are my top 8. I listened to the Original Broadway recording of Evita a lot.

TV for the week: Big Brother Australia, Grey’s Anatomy, Homeland, basketball

Movie of the week:  Lost for Life. The documentary questions whether kids (under 18) should ever get life in prison without parole. Ideally I would like to say no but there are sociopaths out there….serial rapists and killers.

Books of the week:  Finished reading Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult. I started What are You Hungry For?: The Chopra Solution to Permanent Weight Loss, Well-Being and Lightness of Soul by Deepak Chopra.  I also just started You Can Buy Happiness (and it’s cheap) : How One Woman Radically Changed Her Life and How You Can Too by Tammy Strobel

Knitting projects of the week:  I worked on my shawl, scarf and afghan this week. Here are pics of some of those items:

scarf

scarf

afghan

afghan

Crochet projects of the week: Stop the press! ******BREAKING NEWS******** When I showed M my new crochet needles, she said “I don’t know when you have time to do all that”. WORD. I don’t have time. I’m going to steal some of my knitting time and crochet a little. I learned to crochet when I was 9. My best friend taught me. Crocheting is hard for me to not do because I’ve been doing it all my life.  It calms me. However, I can only – barely – make a square. So I kind of enrolled in the best Craftsy course ever: Crochet Basics and Beyond (affl. link). Love the teacher. She understands how to teach beginners.

new crochet hooks

new crochet hooks

Geez, I think crocheting is more complicated than knitting. But I hear that it is quicker. I just want to make a damn blanket. 😉 Knit, crochet, sew – I don’t effing care. So I’m going to work on crocheting and knitting. I will probably do more of one than the other over time. Of course I will knit more now because I have so many things on the needles. I’m just trying to get the basics of crochet down. I’ve been holding the hook wrong all my life so it is like starting again.

So far I’ve just been practicing doing chains:

exciting chains

exciting chains

UGH! I suck at this so far. :/ If it is going to waste my time, I will just focus on knitting. I can always go back to crochet later.

