I’m feeling mummified

I rarely go on about books in this blog but  Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult is worth a few words. I know it is going to change lives….and it’s a fiction book! Hello?? I finished it today. I forgot what it feels like to just sit for two hours and read. Sad but true.

Back to the book. NO SPOILERS, btw. This book is a crash course on how animals are treated at circuses (horribly)  and zoos…and how the wonderful people at sanctuaries help out.  It makes you want to know more. I knew about the circus treatment before I read the book but what the book really sparked in me is how we (I) can help. I can donate money to wildlife sanctuaries, adopt an animal, speak out about it, or volunteer at a sanctuary (my dream). And don’t go to places where animals are mistreated.

I just love knowing that this book exists and that so many people will read it because it is by Jodi Picoult. Brilliant. I know some teenager is reading this book and it will change their life. He or she will decide to work in a sanctuary as a career.  (I’m not interested in working in one). I had no idea what this book was about before I checked it out. I just knew it was new and available so I grabbed it. Now that I’m done with the book, I’m trying to figure out which organization is the best to focus on. WWF? The wild animal sanctuary in Colorado? I’m going to start looking at places overseas.

Edit: I have to mention Elephants.com – The Elephant Sanctuary in Tennessee 

One more thing about the book: It is NOT about animal sanctuaries. I would say it is more of a human mystery with animals as a backdrop. It is an average book overall. I can’t really recommend reading it because it isn’t that good. Only the parts about the elephants kept me reading. Interested in wildlife but don’t want to start with something too heavy? Read this book. (Warning: There are somber parts. I had to skip some sections. Too sad. I wanted to cry).

Finishing that book is only a bit of what I did on my mini break…

I also went thrifting!! 🙂 🙂 I spent $31.56 and brought:

  • 2 pairs of jeans
  • 1 pair of khakis
  • 2 blouses
  • 1 turtleneck
  • 2 t-shirts
  • 3 sweaters

Not too bad. I usually have something in mind when I go thrifting but this time I was all over the place. T-shirts for the gym…I haven’t had “new” khakis in a while.. but I really need sweaters etc. So I spent about 30 minutes  in the thrift store and left with what I listed above. It was hard not buying books but I’m really trying to stay with ebooks when it comes to new purchases because they take up no space. obvs.

Here are some pics of my favorite items:

sweater
sweater

My absolute favorite find:

cardigan
cardigan
purple!
purple!
blouse
blouse

I only worked for about 30 minutes today. Score!…kinda? Back to the grind tomorrow. I’m excited about college basketball tonight. I should really go now. Bye.

