Triangles are my favorite shape

My Las Vegas posts are over. Should I write about the fire? The range on my stove is broken. DUNZO. The fire was one of the scariest moments of my life. I’m used to living in fear 95% of the time but this fear was definitely different. If it were my house, I don’t think I would have been as scared but I’m renting! I can’t let his house burn down.

The day before, I left the burner on for an hour after I finished cooking. The house was filled with smoke and I didn’t even notice. Oh yeah, I am getting a smoke detector. For some reason my landlord took down the smoke detector that was in this house. Anyhow the next day, I tried to cook with the same burner and it didn’t come on. Oh fuck, I thought. But I just used the other burner. Three minutes later, there was a fire. At first when I threw water on it, it seem to get bigger. That is when I became terrified. I was about to call 911 but then I threw a container of water on it and the fire was gone.

So I have to get a new stove. 😦 It costs $340. Since the oven is still working, I’m not rushing it. I brought a portable single burner which will probably annoy me but it is better than nothing. I’m using it for the first time tomorrow.  I will try to get a new stove within 6 months. If it weren’t for Vegas, I probably would have had it installed this week. Bummer. Oh well.

Weekly

Music for the week: Jessie J, Britney Spears, Mary Lambert, Ariana Grande, Aretha Franklin, Ellie Goulding, Lori McKenna, A Fine Frenzy

Taylor Swift’s 1989 leaked. Guess what I’m doing for the remainder of the weekend? 😉 I’m so glad I don’t shun or hate pop music. I love it. I devour it (and spit it out if I hate it).

TV for the week: Big Brother Australia, Army Wives

Movie of the week: The Fault in Our Stars 

Good movie. I enjoyed the characters not being desperate to be in love. That is so tired in movies. I’m watching it again right now for the second time.

Books of the week: I finished  Still Alice by Lisa Genova. It was good but not great. Now I’m reading  Beyond Belief: My secret Life Inside Scientology and My Harrowing Escape by Jenna Hill  & Lisa Pulitzer and Living in the Land of Enough by Courtney Carver

Knitting projects of the week:

I’m almost done with my scarf –

vegas  scarf

vegas scarf

I made two mistakes on this shawl within a 24 hour period. I don’t think think I’m giving up…..yet.

damn shawl

damn shawl

Now I’m going to listen to Taylor Swift’s new album for the first time. I don’t know why I’m so excited. I don’t like all her stuff but the reviews are pretty good so far. Music is my life.

