Vegas: Day one

Um, I said I would probably never go back to Vegas. Well now my mom REALLY wants to go so guess who is going with her…moi. The trip will probably happen in the next 2-3 years. I would not return on my own. But going with someone else when it is their first trip is kind of cool.

Day 2 was my favorite day. On day 1 not much happened. I fell (horizontally) on the tram at the airport in Dallas. No one asked if I was okay. Some people laughed. Anyhow getting to Vegas wasn’t that bad. The 3 hour time difference sort of threw me. I went to bed at 7pm PST! I woke up early everyday and pretty much stayed on east coast time during the whole trip.

I followed my itinerary which was the best idea ever. If you go to Vegas, go with a plan. The first thing I did after being on a plane for 5.5 hours was go to the Miracle Mile Mall. The Elara is right next door to it. I know that mall inside and out. I had to walk through it at least 4-5 times a day to get to The Strip. First I went to the ABC store just to check out their prices on souvenirs (affordable!), then I went to Cheeseburger Las Vegas. I went off of my #NoRedMeat (or pork) diet for this trip.  I had a fruity alcoholic beverage and a burger and fries.

tropical sensation

tropical sensation

The food is okay. Nothing special. Due to the location, I would go back. I just had a problem with how long it takes them to prepare the food. I went there twice, at different times of day and both times it took a while.

After that, I checked into the hotel. I could have checked in earlier but I didn’t know that. OMG. I love that hotel so much!! It is soooo nice. There are cheaper places to stay on The Strip but I will only stay at The Elara. Planet Hollywood is right beside it but they seem to cater to a younger crowd which could mean more noise so I’m staying away from there.

love this kitchen

love this kitchen

See that fridge? Everyone who knows me, knows that that is my dream fridge. I ate at the dining room table quite a bit. The kitchen came with a blender, coffee maker, microwave, dishwasher, utensils, plates, cups etc. There is also a washer and dryer in the bathroom and a nice jacuzzi in the bedroom.

I didn’t take pics of the view because I did a video instead.  The view was very nice. I could see the “Eiffiel Tower”, Wynn, Ceasers Palace, etc. from my window. It was awesome at night. On day 3, I had enough of the view and put the projector screen down instead:

big screen living

big screen living

How cool is that? I only watched the news while I was there. Normally I would’ve watched sports but the only sports on were football (which I’m boycotting) and baseball (which I hate) so no sports.

After checking in, I went on a bus tour of The Strip and downtown Las Vegas. I thought downtown would be nice looking but it wasn’t. At all. The tour was okay.  It is something you definitely want to do on day 1 or 2 so you will know where things are. I took a few pics from the bus:

bus tour

bus tour

I could tell the tour guide was getting a little (?) frustrated with me because I wasn’t a talker. I was so thankful when other people got on. When I went downtown, it was only me and another couple on the bus for the whole hour!

And then I went to bed. LOL. Day one was nice. Not a lot happened. I figured I might be tired from travel so I saved most things for day 2.

to be continued….(with much more pics – I didn’t realize I took more videos than pics until I got home)

