Something in the Water

Three high school football players died this week. How can I justify watching college football when kids are dying in high school? I can’t. I’m done with both pro and college football. I will miss football Saturday but it isn’t worth it. I know better. I knew better than to start watching it again but I justified it because I missed it. No more of that. I’m done.

Onto lighter subjects….

Vegas in 10 days

Look at my mostly packed suitcase:

are we there yet?
are we there yet?

It is so tiny.  I don’t want to check any luggage so I’m taking my small carry on. I also have a huge purse. I am buying gifts for family and I’m a little concerned about space for those items. I’m not planning on buying much for me. My budget will probably go towards food. 😉 I sooo can’t wait. I have been working 6 days a week ALL of September (including Labor Day) so I want a break NOW. Well Thursday and Friday were pretty decent. I didn’t feel as stressed out and I got a lot accomplished. Hopefully next week goes smoothly and then….a week off in Vegas. Yes!

I have typed out a revised itinerary on my kindle. Don’t worry, I won’t share it here but I did include more downtime. I think I will need it.

Weekly

Music for the week: Ariana Grande, Mary J. Blige, Britney Spears, Ellie Goulding, Melissa Etheridge, Lori Mckenna, India.Arie, Patty Griffin

I made a playlist with Patty Griffin and Lori McKenna. I can’t tell the difference between them. I’m probably late to this observation…The new Melissa Etheridge is worth a listen if you are a fan.

TV for the week: Big Brother Australia

I am already hooked on this show! Buddha help me. My faves are Cat and Katie. 🙂

Movies of the week: I have to amp myself up to watch a movie these days. Nothing this week.

Books of the week:  I finished Devil’s Knot: The True Story of the West Memphis Three by Mara Leveritt. Not only were the police corrupt (I expect that) but the judge was unbelievable. I have never read about a trial like this and I read true crime all the time. It sickens me that the real murderer got away with this crime. The police need to reopen the case as a cold case.

I’m taking one or two real books AKA paper books with me on the plane. I can’t decide between  two books. If I have room, I’m taking both. My options are Still Alice by Lisa Genova  and Beyond Belief: My secret Life Inside Scientology and My Harrowing Escape by Jenna Hill  & Lisa Pulitzer. Both are kind of heavy books but I know I will enjoy both. Still Alice will be hard to read because my grandmother currently has Alzheimer’s.

On my Kindle, I have a bunch of books I haven’t read yet. I’m not excited about any of those books so I will probably stick to 3D books.

Knitting projects of the week: This shawl will kill me. The more rows I add, the longer it takes to complete. This thing is driving me nuts. I spent more time reading then knitting this week so not much progress.

 

shawl
shawl

Goals for the weekend: Saturday will be busy. I’m working from 5AM – 10AM. Then I have to take my dog to her “spa” appointment. (I’m not paying for it). Then errands, errands, errands. Hopefully on Sunday I can stay in. Goals? Cook for the week. Clean up. Rest, relax. Fuck it. 😉

