I don’t need to live by your rules

I probably disagree with 70% of what Mayim Bialik says and thinks. But I have to agree with her 100% on the movie Frozen.

Well, I have to speak the truth: My sons and I did not like “Frozen.”

When we first saw it, I thought it was just me who didn’t like it and I had to stop myself from audibly exclaiming, “What!?” when things did not make sense and I rolled my eyes a LOT and felt bad that they might be enjoying it and here I was, Scrooge-ing away. But then the truth came out. They didn’t like it. Phew. Dodged that bullet.

…..Sure, it’s sort of hidden, but the search for a man/love/Prince is still the reigning plot line in the movie, as it is with pretty much all movies for young people which are animated. The sister’s desire to marry this guy she just met, and the other sister getting mad at her–we still have a plot about the identification of a woman being based on her desire and search to meet a man.

Of course, in general, in the Universe, heterosexual women tend to want to meet men and I am one of those women. My issue is not that. My issue is that this is a movie geared to small children who I don’t think need to be focusing on that as the main driving plot of a movie, especially when it’s not a literary or historically-based fairy tale. And these characters are young; certainly not old enough in my socially conservative opinion to be searching for mates!

I’ve had just enough already with this finding a man business in most every kids’ movie. Disney classics were all about this and look where it’s gotten us! Naked billboards of singers and women still not paid equal pay for equal work and ridiculous standards of beauty and body image and campaigns such as “Why I Don’t Need Feminism” and tons of other things proving we still have a ways to go.

Am I taking this all too seriously? Of course I am! That’s because I’m me!

(Read Mayim’s full post here) The only difference for me is that I find it pathetic when adult movies are the same way. I think the directors/writers/producers are “dumbing” down movies with the whole ‘girl must get the guy at the end’. And that is why I don’t like most movies these days. If I made a movie, it wouldn’t rate highly because there wouldn’t be any of that in it. But I’ll leave the movie making to my sister. She isn’t famous for making movies. She does short films on the side when she isn’t working her day job or traveling the world.

Enough about Frozen. What about me? 😉 I’ll be in VEGAS IN 25 DAYS!! YAY. I have changed my itinerary and will post an updated version later. I’m so thankful for the people on youtube explaining how Vegas really is. I needed a reality check. I will also post a link to those videos when I do my post.

Weekly

Music for the week: Ariana Grande, Ellie Goulding, Sam Smith, Train, Mirana and The Diamonds, Counting Crows, Lea Michele, Demi Lovato

TV for the week: Big Brother, Homeland, Army Wives, The Chair

Army Wives isn’t very good. I’m going to keep watching to see if I change my mind. I’m fascinated by The Chair. I binged watched 5 episodes. I can’t keep watching because I don’t have Starz at home. 😦
Re: Big Brother – Derrick has played a flawless game so far. Flawless. Assuming he makes it to the final two, he will win. No doubt. I’m bummed that Victoria only made it that far because she doesn’t win any comps but whatever (girl power?). I enjoyed this season.

Movies of the week: None so far

Books of the week: Devil’s Knot: The True Story of the West Memphis Three by Mara Leveritt

It’s none of my business what you thing of me by Peter Baksa

The Declaration of you by Michelle Ward and Jessica Swift

Knitting projects of the week: My shawl is getting bigger! It is taking forever to knit this thing. I thought I could finish before Vegas but now I’m not so sure. I’ll try.

shawl

Here is the yarn I’m taking with me on the plane. Love this yarn.

plane project
plane project

I’m making a chunky garter stitch scarf. I will be on 4 planes for 14 hours (roundtrip). I’ll read half of the time and knit half of the time.

Goals for the weekend: Mow the whole lawn on Sunday (doubtful). Read at least 100 pages of Devil’s Knot. Knit my shawl. Work on Saturday. Spend at least an hour on my practicum. I have fallen behind with that. I need to get my head back in the game.

I’m still going strong with the #NoRedMeat (or pork) diet.

