I’m dead in the water

I made the appointment to put my dog to sleep but I’m cancelling. She’s  finally eating regularly. She’s not in pain (according to the vet and my observation)…It seems inhumane to euthanize her. Of course I know she doesn’t have long. I’m relieved that she is eating and doing better.

However, I have her this weekend and OMG. This past week, I was thinking about adopting a young beagle. HELL NO! I’m so not ready to have a young dog/puppy. In 5 or 6 years, when I buy my house in the country I hope I’m ready then. I have too much going on right now. I can’t. I just can’t. Like the book says: I Can Barely Take Care of Myself. That author is talking about kids but it’s the same sentiment. I. just. can’t.

How do people do it? How do people even think of doing it? Just the thought overwhelms me. I want to jump under the covers. I have to admit I’m envious of the people that can do it (kids or puppies). They must have their lives together and I don’t. I don’t want the end result (kids = never,  dogs = YES!), I just want the calmness or whatever they have that I don’t.

Since I’m on “vacation” this upcoming week, I’m trying to make plans. I don’t know how much I want to stay in versus go out. Right now I’m just glad to be freeeeeeeeeeeeeeee*. I will check my work email at least twice while I’m away but I won’t respond.

*Well somewhat free. Studying for the boards is no picnic.

Weekly

Music for the week: Lucy Hale,  Mariah Carey,  LP, Colbie Calliat, O.A.R., Jennifer Lopez, Natalie Merchant, Ingrid Michaelson

TV for the week: World Cup, Pretty Little Liars

Movie of the week:  Philomena enjoyable flick

Books of the week: nothing right now *gasp!* I have a ton of books I could read. I’m mostly browsing knitting books and studying.

Knitting projects of the week:  I have a couple of pics to share. I had to use my cellphone to take these pics so they aren’t that good. My dog smashed my hat a little but here it is:

first hat
first hat

It is the first hat I have ever knitted. It is supposed to look crappy. I didn’t use a pattern for the crown but now I know what I could have done to make it look better. My mom says it could fit a newborn. I was aiming for 4-6 year olds. LOL. I suck. I cannot wait to make decent hats. Despite the end result, this was a fun project.

I’m excited about this lace scarf I started last night:

just started
just started

I’ve been looking at other people’s finished versions. I love it! I’m using 50% cotton 50% acrylic yarn for this scarf. I will try to finish it this week. The pattern is sort of easy once you really get into it.

I’m still working on my cowl and stockinette stitch scarf. As of right now I have 3 things on the needles. I’m dying to try fingerless gloves but I might wait until after the boards to get started. Gloves seem a little complicated. I’ll stick with what I’ve already started for now.

I love knitting. I would do it all week and nothing else if I could……

