Don’t be shy girl, so they like you

(‘weekly’ & knitting at the bottom of this post)

I really get it now. Working only 40 hours a week is a luxury. To be able to do that is a privilege – especially these days. I also realize why I hate holidays. It creates obligation and I like freedom. I don’t want to have to fake shit on certain days.

I went to the knitting class. It was somewhat of a waste of time. I have the skills, I’m just a slow knitter which is frustrating because I do everything else fast.  Problem# 1: I was the only one in the class.  There was one “teacher” and she had a friend (also a knitter) with her.

I don’t know where to begin. The knitting part or social issues? I was only semi-taught one new thing. #fail. The social thing is what really got me.

We in the fiber arts are chatty.

Oh fuck off on telling me how different I am. I have been around social people enough. They are CONSTANTLY telling me how weird/bad I am. I don’t need it from another person as long as I live. I get it. You need to talk. I don’t. It’s really that simple. I’m the most introverted introvert you’ll ever meet.

The friend said several times that she didn’t want me to feel excluded. Well I’m not social so I don’t feel that way. What is the point of explaining it? I won’t even waste my time right now. I’ll just say I haven’t gotten that many ‘how dare you be so quiet’ references in a loooooong time. (And that is only because I haven’t been stuck around new people for 3 hours in a long time.)

People. Social people. Must. Live. With. Them.

They make me want to tear my hair out. Btw, if you don’t want to exclude someone you might begin by not constantly pointing out how quiet the person is. Just a thought.

————

Weekly

Music for the week: Lucy Hale,  Ellie Goulding, Mariah Carey, Miranda Lambert, LP, Sarah McLachlan, Colbie Calliat, Edwin McCain.

RIP Casey Kasem. I listened to his show every single week once I discovered it. Now I don’t even listen to music on the radio anymore.

TV for the week: NBA playoffs, Switched at Birth, Pretty Little Liars

I skipped all of the game on Tuesday night due to Eric Cantor losing the primary. I was amazed, in shock. I watched the news all night. I was hoping the Heat would make this a series but it doesn’t look like it. Bummer. I want more NBA games! I haven’t watched a second of the World Cup yet. That will probably change today.

Movie of the week: none. I may watch Philomena today…or save it for next week. I’m not eager to watch it. Obvs.

Books of the week#GIRLBOSS by Sophia Amoruso

Knitting projects of the week: I was hoping to have my hat from knitting class but I didn’t finish it. I do have some works in progress to share. WARNING: I am really into fuzzy/frizzy yarn right now. One day I’m sure I will hate this yarn…probably soon.

cowl

cowl

I have a long way to go on this Out of this World Cowl. This yarn isn’t the easiest to work with. I would not recommend it to to a total beginner.  I just noticed that it looks like it has yarn coming out the side…no that is just the sloppy way I took the photo.

And here is a complete tragedy:

scarf...is it dead?

scarf…is it dead?

I got so far with it. More than 50% done….I hate traveling with my projects. I took this scarf everywhere. This morning I noticed a half of row came off the needle. (!!!) A more experienced knitter would know how to fix this but I have no clue so I’ll probably just throw it away. 😦 Or I may just frog it (rip it out). I dunno. I loved how warm this scarf felt. I may try to fix it. I already had plans to wear this scarf when it gets cold.

Finally here is my child sized hat:

hat for a kid

hat for a kid

I know it looks strange because it is on 4 double pointed needles. I’m about to start working on the crown of the hat. This is a mixture of patterns. I’m kind of making it up as I go. I don’t know whether it will be good enough to give to a kid. I have made mistakes with it but it could be wearable? If I give it to someone, it will be free so whatevs. I have never been so envious of a hat before. It is sooooooooooooo warm. I put my hand on the inside and feel the warmth. LOL.  It is 80% acrylic and 20% wool. Normally I wouldn’t make an off-white hat for me because white shows dirt so easily. That is why I made it child sized so someone else could have it if it turns out okay. But if I had made this in an adult size, I would keep it for myself. That is how warm it is. I cannot wait to make one for me in a different color.

One more thing from knitting class:

You are brave to learn knitting from the internet.

Um, what exactly does that mean? How else would I learn? No one in my family knits. I only know of one person who knits and she hates people (I totally get her) so I wouldn’t dream of asking her to show me anything. Oooh! Another person in the fiber arts community who isn’t all that chatty. She talks more than me though.

Anyway I have to do my “How I taught myself how to knit post”. I will probably do it on my week off from work but I don’t feel like I have all things covered. For example, I don’t know exactly how to tell someone how to learn circular knitting on your own. I have used about 10 resources and I still don’t know what I’m doing. I will probably post something and then update it as I go.

Gotta go. I feel crappy. I have already studied today. I’m going to take some pain medication, then a nap and see what happens then….knitting, reading or studying? Decisions. #MyLifeIsSoToughOnSundays (no work. woohoo!)

Oh! P.S. Here is new yarn from my stash. JoAnn’s had a 5 for $15 sale. I couldn’t resist so I brought these skeins:

yarn stash overflowing

yarn stash overflowing

mostly acrylic. I see gloves, hats, and scarves in my future.

