Youth is wasted on the young

,

Today is my birthday. My birthday was pretty underwhelming for reasons I won’t get into. I did get the day off from work (it is sort of a tradition in our department). The rational side of me thinks it is silly to celebrate the day I was born. I mean, WTF did I do? Nothing. But deep inside I sort of like “celebrating” it. I like it to be a special day. I’ve never had a birthday party. Ever. I usually like to go somewhere alone. Last year I went to the state park for two nights. I had the BEST time. Memories…

The day started with breakfast at Shoney’s. What can I say? I’m a high class girl with expensive tastes. Don’t judge. πŸ˜‰ Now I’ll get into what I received or will be getting. I’ve been blogging off and on (mostly on) for 15+ years and I’ve never done a gift post because I usually don’t get excited enough to want to share anything I got. But this year is different because I got TWO awesome handbags.

Have I ever mentioned that I’m a handbag whore? I don’t think so. I don’t have a ton but I admire them. I try to buy a good (but inexpensive) bag every year.

Bag #1 is: MG Collection Weave Pattern Belt Accent Soft Hobo Shoulder Bag The picture doesn’t do it justice. It is HUGE. This will be the bag I take on the plane to Vegas. That and a small carry on suitcase will be enough for 4 days/3 nights. I will also use it anytime I might want to take a knitting project or a bunch of books with me somewhere.

I have it in black.
I have it in black.

Bag #2 is simply fabulous. It is by Big Buddha. It is the Big Buddha Brandi Hobo Bag. I got it in “ocean”. It isn’t as big as bag #1 so I will probably use it a lot more. For now, it will be my go to bag until I want to switch things up.

Big Buddha, baby!
Big Buddha, baby!

Here is a video of the bag in action:

I also got some yarn, of course. How much yarn does one person need? I must stop collecting yarn. I know this is a serious issue in the knitting/crocheting community.

yarn
yarn

My sister gave me this Baltimore Ravens shirt. I stopped watching football a year ago but I still support my team all the way.

Ravens
Ravens

Well that is it for my show & tell. I had to. I LOVE BAGS! πŸ™‚

Weekly

Music for the week: Sarah McLachlan, Demi Lovato, KT Tunstall, Ellie Goulding, Augustana, Neon Trees, Foster the People, Ray LaMontagne

More men than usual…

TV for the week: NBA playoffs, Mad Men

Movie of the week: none so far

Two days without the NBA? 😦 I may get around to watching Enough Said this weekend.

Books of the week: A bunch of knitting books, The Shyness and Social Anxiety Workbook: Proven, Step-by-Step Techniques for Overcoming your Fear

Knitting projects of the week: still working on the other half of the scarf, and the handbag and dish towel. I had to rip out all of the above and start again. ARGH!!!!!!!! I must’ve had beginner’s luck with the first half of the scarf. That went almost perfectly. Now I can’t do anything right. Pics coming once I’m done.