Sweet silver lining

When certain events happens, it really makes me wonder how the universe decides who should live or die. Happy people with shiny dispositions die yet people who want to die…keep living. It doesn’t make sense. It makes me angry/sad. It’s not fair.
———-

My birthday isn’t until Friday but I got one gift early:

swoon

swoon

It is 100% merino wool and it is so soft. I keep touching it. I never would have brought it for myself because it was expensive ($13) and I don’t know for sure what I am going to make with it. It was supposed to be for a hat but my god, I can’t understand the pattern for most hats! I’m still new to reading patterns. Why can’t someone translate it for newbies? Anyhow, it is only enough for one project so….I will make a hat when I have the ability to do so.

Guess what I’ve been doing? KNITTING. Shocking, I know. Here is the first half of the scarf I knitted. It may look wrong but it is supposed to be a lacy scarf. I’m slowly working on the other half.

lacy scarf 50% done

lacy scarf 50% done

And here is a dish towel:

dish towel

dish towel

Every new knitter has to do one of these, right? I’m not even 50% done with this. It is going to be a big dish towel (10 x 10). I don’t know what I’m going to do with it. I don’t currently use dish towels. LOL. I love, love, love this yarn. Too bad I don’t know what kind it is. I would want some in every color. It came in a knitting kit from the bargin bin at Barnes & Nobles and they didn’t mention what type of yarn it is. Bummer.

One last thing on knitting: I’m in love with bamboo needles. I brought my first pair with a 25% off coupon on Friday. I love them. From now on I will try to purchase only bamboo. About circular needles: I do have one pair but the size is pretty big so when I get another coupon I will get a smaller size. I don’t get the circular knitting thing yet. I don’t know what I’m missing. I need to practice using them more. That is probably the only way I will make a hat so I have to learn.

Weekly

Music for the week: Sarah McLachlan, Ingrid Michaelson, Ellie Goulding, Augustana, Lea Michele,  Sara Evans, Ray LaMontagne, Christina Perri

I made a playlist of albums released between 2012 and now. It is by far my favorite playlist I’ve ever made. It is 126 hours and 47 minutes.

TV for the week: NBA playoffs, Desperate Housewives

Movie of the week: none

When the NBA playoffs are on, I don’t watch much else. (Go Wiz!!!) Oh, do knitting DVDs count? I borrowed three from the library yesterday. 😉

Books of the week: A bunch of knitting books, Frommer’s Las Vegas 2013

I’ve always thought Las Vegas was cheesy. There…I said it. But now that I’m going, maybe it won’t be so bad?? 😉 I have one problem so far with Vegas: Everything costs too damn much. Most of the fun stuff I have crossed off my list because after paying for airfare, how much will I have to spend there? I’m used to going to places with free stuff like DC and even NYC.  The good thing is that I could just spend the whole day walking around. That’s free and sounds like a decent trip so I’m not too bothered by the lack of free things to do. I’ll just walk around and take pictures of course!

The next time I post it will probably be about my marvelous birthday. (is that sarcasm? sadly no).  YAY! 🙂

