Am I swimming in a river that was man made?

About Vegas…I’m planning on going in October IF I can get a week off and I can pay for airfare. I’m less worried about getting the time off than the airfare. I won’t mention Vegas again until I officially book it. The hotel is already paid for but I still have to pick the dates.

———–

I was supposed to be studying for finals last Saturday and I was pretty bummed about missing the big 4 hour flea market that morning. I didn’t know about it until the night before and I had already planned to work (off the clock). So I worked and skipped the flea market. As I was sitting outside studying, my (soon to be) ex-neighbor came up to me and asked if I wanted FREE STUFF. “Like what?” “lamps, household things”. “okay?…” Well here’s what I got:

  • 2 coats (one leather, one peabody)
  • clothes galore (mostly t-shirts, capris, shorts, PJs, boots, tennis shoes, suit jacket, etc.)
  • pans and knives
  • lamps
  • 2 prints (sort of paintings – see below)
  • mirror
  • baskets (I love baskets!)
  • a comforter
  • 6 ft. like new Xmas tree (gave it to my mom because I have no use for it)

And other random stuff. They have been trying to sell the house since their mom died over a year ago. It finally sold. She was going to donate the stuff but for some reason didn’t want to give it to the Goodwill. So she let me have anything I wanted. I really don’t need to go thrifting for “new” clothes because I’ve got a ton of clothes now. Here are some pics of some of the stuff:

haha
haha

I was watching videos on youtube where people put their knitting needles in vases. I thought “what a good idea”. The next day I got a vase so there ya go.

3 lamps
3 lamps

Yes the lamps look a little worn but I’m not picky when it comes to home decor/furniture. Most of my stuff are hand me downs.

brand new boots *NWT*
brand new boots *NWT*
coat
coat

I cannot wait to get this dry cleaned in September. It fits perfectly.

leather coat
leather coat

I need to get this dry cleaned too. How much will this cost me? (I really have no idea…)

paintings
paintings

I love these! Too bad I can’t hang them since I’m living in a rental. I could probably figure out a way or I will save them for my next place.

(More pictures of my knitting below).

Weekly

Music for the week: Ingrid Michaelson, Ellie Goulding, Augustana, Lea Michele, Martina McBride, Sara Evans, Ray LaMontagne, Ariana Grande

TV for the week: NBA playoffs, Desperate Housewives, Real Housewives of NYC (long time, no watch)

Movie of the week:  none

Books of the week:  Knitting for Dummies, Knitting Patterns for Dummies by Kristi Porter, Hidden by Catherine McKenzie, Die My Love by Kathryn Casey

not much leisure reading going on right now

Knitting projects of the week:

scarf
scarf

This is a scarf I’m working on. I’m not sure I have enough yarn to finish so it might just be a collar thing (?).

handbag?
handbag?

Hopefully this will turn into a handbag. I like my purses big. I like to be able to carry a tablet, a book, and maybe lunch…if I want. This will only be big enough for my wallet. I hope it turns out right. I love the color.

