Land of opportunity

Today is supposed to be a “no school work” day. I was going to see Michael Eric Dyson speak after work. But here is a shocker: I have no water! And the roads are also icy. Driving an hour to and from on slick roads does not appeal to me. But I probably would have taken the chance if I had water.

Dyson speaks about 50-75 times a year so I shouldn’t have a hard time seeing him. Actually he is going to speak at my Alma Mater in February but I live almost 4 hours away from there so there is no way I can go to work and then travel there. (I haven’t been back to that school since I graduated. Not because I don’t like it, it is just so far away and universities are the only attraction in the area).

The only good thing about missing his speech is that I get to go to a webinar about taking the boards. I’m geekily excited about this. It takes place monthly and today is the day. YAY. 🙂 This will be my first one.

The biggest problem for me right now is not knowing what to do about the water. The maintenance guy obviously did not insulate everything…right? Why don’t I have water? Did a pipe freeze? I will not call the landlord again. This time I will call a plumber and take on the cost myself. That could possibly deplete my savings. I don’t even want to think about it.

I haven’t had water since yesterday morning. Also I’m currently wearing 3 layers of clothes and I’m still cold. It is so cold in here, my feet get numb. I haven’t even mentioned that the heat stayed on for more than 24 hours straight. How much will my electricity bill be? Argh!!!

I hate winter for so many reasons and now I have a financial reason to hate it. That tops everything.

Two hours until the webinar. 🙂

Leave a Reply

