kiss goodbye being realistic

Good news! Good news! Total yayness!!!! 🙂 🙂

I didn’t have jury duty at all this week. And so far I don’t have it on Tuesday or Wednesday of next week. (Courts are closed Monday for MLK. I’m off from work too). YAY. I’m only on call for two weeks. It would be sooooooo nice if I didn’t have to report at all. I’m definitely holding my breath.

And….I don’t have to take my boards before October! Woot! Woot! (so many exclamation marks!!!) That is a huge relief. I do have to take it before 2015. That gives me a few more months to study. I’ll probably take them in September and December. I need all the time I can get. I’m so much of a geek, I can’t stop studying for it though. While working I’m watching/listening to videos on youtube about the test. I can’t help it. But at least the pressure is off. I can concentrate more on NOW. Now = school work.

(I thought I would have a hard time motivating myself for school this semester but I haven’t had that problem at all. When I’m not working, sleeping or reading for fun, I’m studying. I actually like this stuff. Weird).

And…my landlord had someone insulate my pipes. No shit, right? Does he have any idea how cold this house is? Even though I pay $200 for heat a month, I still have to wear 2-3 layers of clothes IN THE HOUSE AT ALL TIMES. Guess what? I’m still cold. But the good news is that the issue with the pipes has been addressed. 🙂

And…lol. As long as I don’t have jury duty on this Thursday, I will be going to see Michael Eric Dyson speak at a MLK event. I will get a chance to meet him (BREATHE) if I don’t chicken out. If you don’t know about Dyson, he is basically the smartest, funniest, guy on the planet. I’ve read 5 of his 16 books. (I personally think his speeches are 100x better than his books). He is officially a “public intellectual”. He also teaches at Georgetown. And he also is a minister, I don’t hold that against him because he has nothing against atheists. 😉

It would be so great to meet him and get him to sign one of his (my) books. O god. I’m already hyperventilating.

/end good news

————–

How do I get rid of really nice Jehovah Witnesses? I told them I don’t believe in God but they came back 3 weeks later. They are planning to come back on Sunday. I know most people wouldn’t open the door but my car is outside…It would feel really rude to just ignore them.

They asked me what I would get rid of if I could get rid of anything in the world. I said “poverty”. But wouldn’t it have been funny if I said homophobia? LOL. I crack myself up!  I thought of that right after they left. I don’t know if I would have the courage to say that to a religious group. I like to call out prejudices. I’m {fill in the blank} like that.

Anyway, now they are going on about how God doesn’t want poverty. Blah, blah. But I don’t believe in God so UGH! Moot point. If I don’t believe, anything you say about God to me is pure BS. Is that hard to understand? PEOPLE!!

Sorry for the outburst. I just don’t know how to make them go away. They did make me think about one thing after their first visit. He said most people have an event that makes them not believe in God. He asked me what that was. At the time I said, “uh, nothing really happened. I just stopped believing in my teens. I’m a spiritual person though”. Afterwards I think it might have to do with my social anxiety AND seeing people suffer. (natural disasters, terrorism, etc.)

I hated god for my social anxiety. Who would make someone friendless? (Btw, I’m used to it now so it isn’t a big deal or an issue in my life). I just thought whoever created SA was cruel. And then as I got older, I thought:  I would never believe in a god who would allow these horrible things to happen. I guess that is why I don’t believe in God. Also there is no proof. So there you go.

I’m going to tell the JW I don’t believe in God again  – if I can kindly slip it in. Maybe they will get it then. I’m not trying to be converted!

This is really long. I was supposed to be typing up my homework. Way to go………..I’m going to take a nap instead. Ha. I have all night to do homework. #TypicalFridayNight

Leave a Reply

