Floored by love

Today was a good day. 🙂

———–

Sometimes I just want to scream “I’m not the one who made personal ‘blogging’ up! This is what people did. All kinds of people…it seemed like everyone was doing it.” And now no one does it. Well there are a few of us. (Hi!) I miss the online diaries days so much.  I miss the people. I miss the community. I hate calling this a blog.

Why are you talking about you? Who cares about you? Who are you? This is so funny to me. Hello? Anyway, now people just tweet, use instagram, and facebook INSTEAD of personal blogging. They are still doing the same thing but just in a cooler format.

Why am I ranting about this? I’m reading How to Blog for Profit (Without Selling Your Soul) by Ruth Soukup. I’m exactly 44% through. It is a great, informative, book but it isn’t what I’m trying to do. Reading this book just makes it clearer. I’m not a writer. I don’t have a desire to write a personal blog for an audience. That would be selling my soul.

However, I am interested in fan sites. I have done so many over the years (about 10). I had the first ever Aaliyah (RIP) fan site on the net. It wasn’t very good because I didn’t know what I was doing but I got so many hits. So…I enjoy doing fan sites and it takes a lot of time. Maybe I could get money for it? It isn’t easy for me to go out and get a part time job so why not treat the fan site as a part time job?

The domain I want is actually available. I’m in no rush because I think it will be there for a while. For now, I’m just going to update my fansite-ish blog on wordpress.com.  I had stopped for a few months because the musician was too busy for me but I will slowly get back into it. And instead of a typical “fan site” which is more like a website than a blog,  I may just keep doing it in a blog format and see what happens.

My point is I’m glad I started reading this book. At first I was trying to think of ways I could blog for profit. I came up empty. I don’t do DIY projects. I don’t cook. I don’t have a profitable talent.  She doesn’t mention fan sites. I’m not sure why…..They get a lot of hits. People go there daily for news. But then again most people don’t do fan sites in a blog format. I’m going to do it though!

Perhaps I will dedicate one hour a day to my nonprofit fan site/blog and see what happens. Anyway, I am breaking all the how to blog for profit rules in this one post. LOL.

I would definitely recommend this book to people who want to make a profit out of blogging. It was written in 2013 so it is up to date.

Leave a Reply

