what if I’ve always been good enough in my skin?

I’m going to see John Mayer and Philip Philips in mid-December. YAY! I’m pissed that I could have gotten a better seat if I had waited instead of getting a ticket when they first went on sale. Oh well. My seat is on the floor but not at all close enough for me. I was 5th row the last time I saw Mayer. Bummer. I haven’t had a seat this bad in years. This should be interesting…If this experience is bad, I will not be attending another concert unless I can sit in the front ten rows. That’s how I roll. 🙂

While watching an episode of Grey’s Anatomy I realized that if I were told I’m going to die within weeks, I’d be sad. It isn’t always that way for me (just read my past posts). I would feel like I haven’t really lived. I think it has more to do with my job. I’m unsure about what I’m doing and it is currently all about production. Maybe next week will be better. It really has to be.

Edited: I erased a portion of this entry because I didn’t want to possibly offend people. How silly is that? Very. I didn’t save what I wrote. It was a short, passion filled rant about how poor people are invisible. Basically what I said was just because they aren’t on the internet doesn’t mean they don’t exist.

I just see too many people dismissing poverty in America. They treat it  as a joke. Example: “Oh they have iPads/big TVs/internet etc”.  Well the people in my family don’t have those things. They don’t have internet access or even computers. (WHAT?) I can bring the stats but that involves too much work to google all of them. 50 million Americans (including kids) have food insecurity. How many Americans believe that to be true? I do because I see it.

The poor people in America are invisible. But they are there and they exist. Maybe I erased it before not because I didn’t want to offend but because it wasn’t eloquent. My words feel empty. Why am I blogging about this? Because it really irks me how dismissive people are of poverty. I think I will blog about this more because it is important to me even if no one else cares. I don’t assume anyone reading this cares about me as a person.

Weekly

Music for the week: Five for Fighting, Amanda Shires, Maria Mena, Christina Aguilera,  Jessica Mauboy, Janelle Monáe,  John Mayer,  John Legend, Rihanna, Keith Urban, Sheryl Crow

TV for the week: Grey’s Anatomy, Big Brother 15, Project Runway (long time, no see), The Daily Show

Movies of the week:  Sparkle, Anna Karenina (both average)

Books of the weekBully: A True Story Of High School Revenge by Jim Schutze,  Five Days at Memorial Life and Death in a Storm-Ravaged Hospital by Sheri Fink

Goals for next week: I really have to clean up. I want every room clean. I have to make a decision about volunteering at the animal shelter next week. blah, blah, blah

One thought on “what if I’ve always been good enough in my skin?

Leave a Reply

