Money moves everything

I’m sad today. It is usually such an exciting time: the beginning of college football. I saw people in the store so excited over the games even the cashier was talking about it. If you read my boycott or watch football post, you know I’m not joking about my sadness. After I posted that, I decided to boycott football. Just typing that entry made it clear to me that I can no longer watch the games. However, I will allow myself to watch highlights on Sportscenter until I’m completely over the sport. Right now I’m watching tennis. I love the US Open but it isn’t the same. 😦

I volunteered at the animal shelter yesterday. I walked the two sweetest dogs. I was feeling pretty good as I was leaving until I got this: “You quitting this early, huh?” – an animal shelter staffer. He was also walking dogs. Sigh. Fine I only stayed 30 minutes. (15 minutes for each dog). Without the treats, which were hidden in a back room, I wouldn’t have been able to get the dogs back in their kennel. I still suck at getting them in and out. The last thing I wanted to do was try a THIRD dog and press my luck.I did not want to tempt the gods. I am going back on the Friday after next and I will stay for an hour. I will walk 4 dogs. Hopefully that pleases everyone because I aim to please! 😉

cookbooks

cookbooks

I went book crazy in a totally bad way. I brought wheat/gluten free cookbooks.  Ugh.  I’m not a cooker. I didn’t grow up in a house where people cooked. I have tried this thing called cooking. I do not have a knack for it.  I have baked a little (cookies, muffins, cake…) but everything else I suck at. Cooking is a foreign language to me but I am determined to try. Wheat free is stricter than gluten free so I’m just using the gluten free cookbooks for ideas.  It’s not like I’m eating completely healthy though. I still eat baked potatoes, food with corn starch, and diet soda. GASP! Not soda??!

The books I foolishly brought were:

I also did what I wasn’t supposed to do. I went to Kroger and brought wheat free food. I know, I know. But seeing all the stuff I read about in my cookbooks on the shelves at Kroger…I had to buy some things. Shopping at Kroger was like shopping at Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s. Who knew? Anyhow I’m most excited about my wheat free pizza crusts. YAY! I know I’m supposed to make them from scratch but like I said, I’m not a cooker. I can’t wait to make pizza.

I also brought eggplant. WTF am I supposed to do with that? I have had eggplant parmesan before and I have always had this fascination with eggplant but I don’t know anything about how to prepare it. It is pretty though. 😉

Stay tuned. I will post anything I “cook”. Hopefully I will be able to make a pizza soon. I’m not sure I have all the ingredients.

Weekly

Music for the week: John Mayer, Macklemore, The Civil Wars, Selena Gomez, Jillette Johnson, Sara Bareilles, Dia Frampton, Tara MacLean

TV for the week: Grey’s Anatomy, Big Brother 15, US Open

Movie of the week:  none

Books of the week: the cookbooks mentioned above, Gluten-Free Made Easy As 1,2,3: Essentials For Living A Gluten-Free Life by Angela McKeller, Learning to Bake Allergen-Free: A Crash Course for Busy Parents on Baking without Wheat, Gluten, Dairy, Eggs, Soy or Nuts by Colette Martin (not a parent but still may be helpful)

Goals for next week: Go to a yoga class. Clean the living room and kitchen. Enjoy Labor Day. Cook, cook, & cook.

Leave a Reply

