Shock to your system

I have been collecting quotes for at least a decade. In fact, I have a notebook full of typed quotes.  There must be about 300 quotes in there. I keep moving so I’m not sure where it is right now. I think I can easily get to it but I have to check. I used to take my binder full of quotes (smirk) with me everywhere. I took it to the beach etc.

Let me backtrack….I have been intrigued with Becky Higgins’ mini albums since they became available. But I couldn’t think of anything to do with one. A travel album sounds lovely but I don’t take enough pics (or go anywhere long enough) to fill half an album. So I decided not to buy one. Then I found out they were 20% off for the first week of April. Again I wished I had use for one.

Then I saw this post @ simple as that. OMG. Amaaaazing idea. 🙂 Use a mini album to keep track of my favorite quotes. Why didn’t I think of that? Duh. I ordered the cherry mini album. Now I’m doing a quote book AKA spirit book.

I like that I will be able to take it everywhere. It is much smaller and less bulkier than my other “Spirit Notebook”. I am having a problem with fitting some of my quotes on the 3×4 cards. A lot of my quotes are long. Some of my quotes won’t even fit on the 4×6 cards! I guess I could just type some of my quotes and print them out. I might have to do that.

Here are some pics of what I have done with my spirit book so far:

project life

cover

1st page

1st page

unfinished

unfinished

I am going to try to not use a lot of filler in the future. I want this book’s focus to be quotes. I may post updates to this book along side my regular project life entries. Btw, so far I’ve used the turquoise and cherry core kits. I could really use a better pen but I don’t want to spend money on it so a regular pen will do for now.

I’ll share one of my recent quote finds to end this entry:

One of the most powerful Buddhist teachings is that as long as you are wishing for things to change, they never will. As long as you’re wanting yourself to get better, you won’t. As long as you are oriented toward the future, you can never just relax into what you already have or already are.

– Pema Chödrön

Leave a Reply

