Spirit Indestructible

I’m going to be my own best friend

A week from today at this time I will be on my way to Mexico City or in Mexico waiting for my plane to Oaxaca, Mexico. HOPEFULLY. 😉 I’m in the process of packing everything I can. I’m pretty much backpacking in Oaxaca. I’m not taking anything extra. I’m only taking one extra outfit and I will have what I’m wearing. If they tell me I have to check my luggage, I will not be happy. (understatement). All I have is an almost kid sized suitcase and a laptop bag. I shouldn’t have to check anything. I will have to repack at the airport, if they won’t let me carry my stuff on.

All this talk of airports is making me nervous. I’m taking my Kindle yet I’m still taking at least 2 paperback books with me. I would take more but I’m “backpacking”. On my kindle I have The Oath: The Obama White House and the Supreme Court. My paperback book is a true crime book (my fave) – Fatal Vision. I also have 1 audio book: Daring Greatly: How the Courage to Be Vulnerable Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent, and Lead by Brene Brown. Three nonfiction books. So much for reading more fiction books. I guess I’m just a nonfiction girl these days. Fatal Vision is 684 pages!!! I need that book on my kindle. I can’t believe I’m taking it but I need something fast paced to take on the plane. I am also taking one travel guide paperback book. I also have one travel guide on my kindle. That should be enough.

I’m sort of toying with the idea of booking a hotel. eeeek! I have a hostel booked (private room). I only had to put $15 down, I pay the other $139 when I get there. So if I go somewhere else I’m not really losing a lot. However, the hotel costs $220. That isn’t bad for 4 nights but I’m already nuts for going. When would be the right time to go? When I’m unemployed? When I have this much money or that much? When I have no debt? When I feel like I have job security? (ROFL). That is why I decided to seize this brief moment. People at my company are being laid off left and right. I was considering waiting until I get laid off but even that isn’t guaranteed. (NO I DO NOT WANT TO LOSE MY JOB!!! and no I have not gotten a layoff notice – Thank Buddha) If I had waited until I wasn’t working, I could’ve spent more than 3 1/4 days there. I did consider that.

I also think I won’t live past 50 so why not do what I want to do despite logic and money? Do it now. If I do live for a while, I am seriously thinking about retiring in Mexico (not Mexico City but Oaxaca or somewhere near there – there are so many wonderful cities there, hard to pick). This trip will have a lot to do with this decision. If I fall in love, I will start planning as soon as I get back. I’m not joking.

Hopefully I will be able to keep my job at least until my house is sold and I’m in a townhouse. Anyhow, I’m glad I’m taking this risky chance. It might backfire but I won’t know that before I go. 😉 At least I will have this experience. I’ve made major mistakes (like buying a house) and I didn’t know they were mistakes until years later. Some things I don’t know if they were mistakes or not (like going to my 3rd choice college when I could have gone to 2 others but I couldn’t afford them without high interest loans so I went with my 3rd choice). So who knows anything? Yeah, that pretty much sums up life. Or my life, at least.

I don’t think I’m booking a hotel even though it is in a prime location. Next time I go, I will stay there. For now a hostel makes more sense. Plus all the reviewers on trip advisor say it is more like a hotel than a hostel. That is why I picked it. Also the hostel has free wi-fi, the hotel has no wi-fi. But the hotel has an ironing board…..Okay, I’ll stop now. heh.

———–

Due to my uncle having malignant cancer, my grandmother moved in temporarily. She has Alzheimer’s. Um, this has been a challenge to say the least. Remember I work at home so…yeah.  I really don’t know how caretakers of parents do it. It must be so exhausting. Anyhow, my situation could be worst so I’m thankful it isn’t. I had no idea this was going to happen. I do feel bad for being gone for 5 whole days next week. I won’t be any help. I feel bad that she is downstairs by herself when I’m upstairs working. I think she really wants to go back home. 😦 I feel so bad but I’m doing what I can. That is all I can do.

One thought on “Spirit Indestructible

Leave a Reply

