Looking for paradise

To my surprise my Jewelry class is officially ON! Thursday night is the first class. This should be interesting.

If I do go to Mexico in March, it looks like I will have to stay in a hostel. The good hotels and B&Bs are already booked. Fortunately I found the #1 hostel in Oaxaca, Mexico…and it still has a private room available! 🙂 No cancellation though so if I can’t go, I’m out of about $200.00 for four nights. I won’t have to take a taxi anywhere. Everything is in walking distance from the hostel (except the airport, which is 10 minutes away).

Ummm, I didn’t know that hostels didn’t have locks on their doors. I’m glad I’d already decided not to take my laptop. I will have a private room so maybe there is a chance for a lock on the door?? Is that really a lot to ask for? I don’t think so but I’m not a world traveler or anything. I guess it makes sense when 4 or 8 people are in a room not to have a lock but a private room not having a lock? Okay, I’ll have to get over that. This hostel does have places to lock your stuff but I’d rather have my stuff in my room, you know?

Here is a pic of the private room:
Photos of Hostel Don Nino, Oaxaca
This photo of Hostel Don Nino is courtesy of TripAdvisor

Look at the bookshelf I won’t be using! :/ I’m not being sarcastic. I love that a hostel room has a bookshelf but I will only be there for 3 full days (IF I go at all). I’d rather have a hotel room but in Oaxaca nothing seems to guarantee quiet so a hostel is just as good as a hotel. At least I’ll have a private bathroom.

One more thing: I completely forgot until today that I will be in school during March of 2013. Ha. Delusional? ME? I don’t even have a passport yet. lol. Oh and my Spanish is at a 1st grade level. Ha. Now or never. If delusional gets me to Mexico for a few days, then fine.

I know what flight I’m taking. That was the easy part. The hardest was finding a good place to stay with a vacancy. My goal for 2012 is to book everything (except the flight), get my passport etc. I’m going to do most things at the last minute since everything is so up in the air. What if I were to have a new job in March and unable to take any time off? Things like that. I will try to delay the booking of the flight until at least January. But I will go through with the passport thing before then. I’m going to book the hostel in October or November. There are only 2 private rooms, I should book NOW…sigh.

————–

I now know where I got my scrapbooking/photo album ways from! My dad has kept photo albums just like Project Life for decades. He keeps moving from state to state and to country to country so it is hard for him to keep up with heavy albums these days. In fact, he sent me a couple of them to keep for him. Like most of the things I like (besides sports) I got it from my dad. Anyhow, I think the best thing about PL is that I will be journaling daily and placing it in the book. I journal sporadically in my paper journal and when I do journal, I never write about “what I did today”. So PL will change that. Sometimes I have to come back to this blog to find out when something happened!

I have pics of course! Project Life pics:

12×12 photo album

I haven’t had a 12×12 album since I was 13. I forgot how big they were. This one is already heavy. I have put all my stuff from the 2010-2012 album in this one. I like the album but I’m definitely getting a leather one for 2013. It seems more sturdy. I’m sure this one will be fine for now.

the cherry edition set

Photo album with journaing cards. *swoon* I’m getting the turquoise edition for 2013.

my first page

The blank space is for the picture of me being oh so happy to get Project Life. LOL.

incomplete

I had to put that Michelle Obama ticket somewhere. I’m glad I thought about my dad doing this. It feels more special now. Here is to doing (my own version of) Project Life for the rest of my life. I hope 2013 includes tons of pics of my trip to Mexico. 🙂

Leave a Reply

