Triumphant

Skip to the bottom of this post to see my first handmade bib necklace….if you dare.

This is too funny. I spent 45 minutes in line to get a ticket to see Michele Obama. See below:

ticket to see FLOTUS

I thought she was coming on Saturday uh, no she is coming today! There is no way I can take time off from work today and go see her. ROFL. No I did not look at the ticket. I got my ticket at 8:45PM and I was so tired. All I did was marvel at the fact that I actually got a ticket. Most rallies with the President don’t give out tickets so I was thinking “Wow I have a ticket!” I didn’t bother reading it. I’m relieved for so many reasons. I have a ton of tings to do on Saturday and I didn’t want to spend hours at this event. Getting there slightly early, trying to find parking, and then uh, the waiting.

I was so not looking forward to that. Plus my uncle is on hospice care and I am supposed to see him on Saturday. The last thing I wanted to do was go over there extra early just so I could see the First Lady. And I have to take my mom grocery shopping on Saturday morning. So I’m just thinking about all this plus seeing Michelle Obama. Too much for one day. I don’t have a ton of energy. Also, I didn’t really want to miss all of college football Saturday. I LOVE football. (Um, isn’t that obvious)?

I did get to meet two really cool people in line as  I was waiting for the tickets. I didn’t talk to them much. I was standoffish NOT because I didn’t want to talk, it is basically just my social anxiety. One of them went to the DNC convention in Charlotte. How cool! My mind went totally blank when she said that. I would have asked “How was Charlotte?” I wouldn’t have asked too much about the actual convention because I watched it on TV. lol. But I can’t relax enough to think around people.

The other person is going through a tough time with her health. She has/had cancer. She doesn’t have regular health insurance. She has to pay 1/3 of what she makes each month for COBRA. If Obama gets reelected, she will no longer have this problem.  She is also a single mom, recently divorced. Ouch. She just had surgery last week. She is a survivor. She is going through all this but she was thrilled to be standing in line. All she wanted, other than the ticket, was an Obama sign to put in her yard. She lives in a heavy Republican part of town so her signs from 2008 were constantly stolen.

Anyhow, the other two people bonded without me. The woman behind me and the woman in front of me talked like normal people. She asked the right questions to the woman who went to the convention. “So you got to see Clinton speak??! OMG, I love him!” She could talk. I can’t do that. I think of things to say once all eyes are off me. If you want to see me incoherent or not talking, just look at me. I can’t function. Yes in normal situations, I suck.

What made them “really cool” is that they did not do small talk. (???!!!) They were talking about real stuff. I would not have been interested in their conversation if it was about mundane stuff like the weather. Even when each one was talking to me, no small talk. I think I look off putting so maybe that is one reason why people don’t bother with small talk with me. Don’t get me wrong, some people do try. I try to give my best one word response. Sometimes I come up empty. I hate small talk. It is so boring. :/ Plus I’m bad at small talk. I can talk about bigger issues much easier but I’m still seen as aloof and socially awkward or not that interested. (Okay when it comes to small talk, I am truly not that interested. TALK ABOUT ANYTHING OTHER THAN THE WEATHER! See if I were a guy, it would be so easy because then people would approach me about sports. I can give you more than one word on sports.)

———–

I made my first bib necklace. It isn’t great but I’m still going to rock it. 😉 People can tell that it is handmade. That is the problem. I didn’t make the actual cloth bib. I brought 6 for $7.00 from an Etsy store. Great value! Here is what I came up with:

bib necklace

IMO, it looks much better in person…but it still looks very amateurish. It is sloppily handmade. The glue can be seen. etc.  . I like the necklace but it is only for me. I’m fully aware that this isn’t for selling or even gift giving. Heh. Everything on the necklace was already in my jewelry box. I didn’t have to buy anything other than the black cloth. Once I use all my “bibs”, I will make them by hand. It isn’t that hard. All I have to do to finish this necklace is cut out felt to put on the back of the necklace.

Why did I choose to do this necklace first? Purple is my favorite color (and I love feathers!!)  A broken earring, a necklace I partially tore apart and regular beads are on the necklace. My next one will probably be red  because I have a lot of random red stuff in my jewelry box. After that, I will probably have to buy stuff.

Leave a Reply

