paranoia strikes deep

I’m still wired after drinking a cup of coffee this morning. This entry will be all over the place. Speaking of drinks, I have only had TWO sodas during the past 3 months. 🙂 Mountain Dew was my drug of choice. During my childhood, it was Sprite but then I discovered caffeine. Yes, I still drink coffee. I probably drink about 4-5 cups a week.

I’m so excited that I now have access to a treadmill at home!!! I don’t have to leave my house like I did last Sunday just to go to the gym. My mom dusted off her treadmill. I can’t believe all I had to do was ask. (Hello?) I will have to get use to the deep incline. It can’t go down. I will be going slow for a while. I’m used to being able to adjust it. Anyway, my minimum goal is 1 mile a day 3-4 days a week. I would love to do 2 miles 3 times a week. But I’m only used to doing a mile or a mile and a half. So I’ll start with that.

I have to mention this now because Whitney just came on my music player. My mom is so impressed that I’m not a real Whit fan but I can tell you who wrote almost all of her songs. She rattled off titles and I told her the songwriter(s) of all but one. She thinks this means I would be good in a certain ‘profession’…because I can easily recall things. Um, NO. I live and love music. I can easily remember this somewhat useless stuff. But in general I have a horrible memory. I’m also bad at paying attention to details which makes my current job so exasperating. I’m much better at the big picture.

I love sports almost as much as music but I can’t remember stats of even my favorite players/teams. Don’t get me wrong, I love stats (psych major!) but when people start going on and on about sports and statistics, it is like my brain just shuts down. Anyhow, I’m glad someone is impressed by my pop culture knowledge. However, I have been slipping as of late. I probably won’t know 75% of the people at the Academy Awards tonight. Eww, I just realized that the NBA All Star game is on at the same time as the Oscars. I’m probably the only person who is bummed about this. 😉

Rambling………………………….

I am making some progress on cleaning my house. I definitely will have professional cleaners clean the floors. And I may have carpet installed. I’ve been thinking about *maybe* renting my house out. I won’t do it if I have to be in charge of maintenance though. I will hire a rental agency. I have no idea how much that costs. I just know that having someone else involved will increase what I would ask for rent. Hopefully with my mom’s help, the house will have a professional look in 2 months. Then I will have to make a decision. Rent out or sale?? I just hate the thought of someone messing up my house! (Don’t think negatively).

I’m trying to not spend too much time searching for houses on the net. I keep finding beauties. Of course there is probably something wrong with most of these houses. Why would an affordable 4 bedroom/2 bath with lots of land be on the market for almost a year? I’m still conflicted with the whole country living versus city living. Gas prices will always be an issue. I have to put that down as a con. Gas will not cost $2.50 a gallon even if Newt Gingrich is president. *smirk*

I haven’t really considered alternatives like buying a hybrid car. I haven’t done much research in that area because the last thing I wanted to do was buy another car. Of course that happened anyway. If only I could work at home forever. Then gas would not be a top concern. BUT when I hear the kids next door bouncing that damn basketball or I think about how it was living in my house: I know I have to get to the country.

Gas be damned??? Everything has to be complicated. Every. Single. Thing. At this point, I’m pretty sure the townhouse thing is out. I’m far too neurotic to share walls with someone. Been there, done that. I really do know that I belong in the country but I can’t just ignore all the drawbacks (gas, yard maintenance, more critters, power outages for days/weeks, etc.) I’m so torn over this. Obviously.

I don’t know why I’m posting this. I don’t think I blogged about what I originally wanted to mention. Whatever.

Leave a Reply

