My take on the Jay Cutler story

No social outing for me. It sold out. I kept thinking “it might sell out”. That is the problem with not being able to reserve stuff online. When I have to physically go out and reserve something (RARE these days), then I will usually put it off until late. I was dreading having to get a parking situated, having to go to work extra early so I could leave to make reservations etc. I was going to do it tomorrow afternoon. So…It wasn’t meant to be. I hope next time I can find about it in advance. It was barely publicized. I just happened to read an email. Oh well.

I so wanted to do pull an all nighter last night but I know I have to work the next day. I had two short papers due. I half-assed it. I hate doing that. I promise myself I won’t do it again. For what that’s worth.

—————-
I guess I’m not watching the Superbowl this year. Heh. I could do a whole series of entries on the Jay Cutler story. Or I could blog about my new serotonin diet. Or about how I wish our gym had yoga classes instead of yogalates because I’m not sure what yogalates is. 🙂 But I’m not passionate about that. I didn’t want to blog about the Cutler story because it is basically a “people suck” entry but this is the only story I’m dying to give my thoughts on. So the people who think I’m a jerk, continue on because if not being like you is a jerk, I’m a jerk. (yes I heard that – lol)

I’m going to try to shorten my rant because I should be doing 50 other things. You don’t like Jay Cutler so you don’t give him the benefit of the doubt?! Forget “fair” for a minute. But is that RIGHT? I’m not a black and white thinker but I have a hard time understanding how people can believe this is okay. Say Carla writes an A+ paper, is it okay to give her a B because you don’t like her? I don’t get it. It’s funny, in a world where feelings are shunned; people have no problems letting THEIR FEELINGS cloud the judgment of others.

(Halftime: Here’s how Cutler’s critics should apologize)

People were criticizing his body language for god sakes. How can people not see how ridiculous that is? People will say they know people are different YET, they judge them on how they would act. Does that make any sense? Do they really believe people are different? They don’t act like it. He should smile. He should be more talkative (WTF?). He should this, that. Unbelievable!

As far as the athletes who were quick to judge go, they are hypocrites for criticizing another player. They are constantly complaining about writers doing that to them. CONSTANTLY. However, players aren’t necessarily the moral bunch. Is that a stereotype? Is that mean? What I mean is that they will play WITH a concussion. (How smart is that?) They take dangerous drugs (ex: steroids) just to play the game. So I don’t hold them to a high standard. All that matters to them is PLAYING. They don’t think about their future. The statistics show that. How smart is that?

I expect this of normal people but I was surprised that the players trashed him so quickly. Yes twitter is really how all this got so bad but sports analysts (ex-players) on TV were quick to judge right after the game also.

Bottom line is that this is an example of how people are “unfair” to people they do not like. Don’t forget that most of these people/players have NEVER met him. One person said, “Jay Cutler could not win”. That is true. People cannot be pleased. And then they wonder why he isn’t nice. Why he isn’t smiling. Maybe he had to deal with this crap so long as he is just over it. Or maybe I’m projecting.

By the way, I’m not a Jay Cutler fan. I probably know less about him than the average football fan. The fact that we now know he has a sprained MCL has nothing to do with my opinion. I hope he doesn’t need surgery.

One thought on “My take on the Jay Cutler story

  1. Great article here. Man, the news never stops in the NFL eh? It has been really interesting to see all the different angles that people have been taking with regards to the Jay Cutler story. The players obviously have a dislike for Cutler and were not going to give him the benefit of the doubt on anything. I think it shows a lack of respect from his fellow NFLers, which can’t be a good sign for a player. Despite his god given abilities and him taking his team to the NFC Championship this year there is definitely something missing in Cutler. I personally think the players had the right to talk because, well, it’s a free country right. However, it can’t be any good for Cutler and Chicago has to figure out where they wanna go with their QB situation because I know a lot of NFL fans are calling for the Bears to go in a different direction. Also, you think you could check out my blog cuz I’d love to hear what you have to say. http://chrisross91.wordpress.com/2011/01/25/emotional-disconnect/

Leave a Reply

