exploring Buddhism: 1st truth

So I was supposed to be exploring Buddhism in this blog last month. I’ll start now. May is usually my favorite month but this month will be one of the busiest. New York is one thing. The most stressful will be preparing m bedroom for a certain person who will come in early June. I’m still not happy  about this but I can’t let it take away any possible future joy. (going to see John Mayer in concert in July!!! – he is on my top 3 to see in concert list. How exciting. And I somehow got awesome seats online with a dial up connection. It pays to only order ONE ticket, I guess. woohoo!) I have to turn my storage room into a livable room. There are so many other issues too. It just sucks.

I’m starting school in late May. Trying to sell next week (no rain please). Work stuff. ::sigh:: etc. Too much. My stomach is now upset after typing this. This is why I can’t even *think* about it. I just want to crawl up and die or hibernate or runaway……..

———–

Buddhism. The first noble truth is really simple and I don’t have much to add to it:

What is the First Noble Truth?

The first truth is that life is suffering i.e., life includes pain, getting old, disease, and ultimately death. We also endure psychological suffering like loneliness frustration, fear, embarrassment, disappointment and anger. This is an irrefutable fact that cannot be denied. It is realistic rather than pessimistic because pessimism is expecting things to be bad. lnstead, Buddhism explains how suffering can be avoided and how we can be truly happy.

source

Um, I agree. This is what drew me to Buddhism. It is just the truth (for me). Of course the tough part is avoiding suffering. That will be explored more later with the other truths. It involves letting go. This quote further explains sufferring:

Suffering is a big word in Buddhist thought. It is a key term and it should be thoroughly understood. The Pali word is dukkha, and it does not just mean the agony of the body. It means that deep subtle sense of unsatisfactoriness which is a part of every mind moment and which results directly from the mental treadmill. The essence of life is suffering, said the Buddha. At first glance this seems exceedingly morbid and pessimistic. It even seems untrue. After all, there are plenty of times when we are happy. Aren’t there. No, there are not. It just seems that way. Take any moment when you feel really fulfilled and examine it closely. Down under the joy, you will find that subtle, all-pervasive undercurrent of tension, that no matter how great this moment is, it is going to end. No matter how much you just gained, you are either going to lose some of it or spend the rest of your days guarding what you have got and scheming how to get more. And in the end, you are going to die. In the end, you lose everything. It is all transitory.

-Henepola Gunaratana

So there really isn’t happiness. I don’t even know what that  word means. I’m just glad I’m not trying to attain it. One less thing to worry about.

Now I’m in survival mode. Get up. Go to work. Try not to have a nervous breakdown. Repeat. But I have other stuff going on too. A lot of things I should be doing are not happening.

Crisis mode. survival mode. This week will be a tough test.

Btw, I’m not a Buddhist.

One thought on “exploring Buddhism: 1st truth

Leave a Reply

