Whataya Want from Me

1 in 100 people have schizophrenia. That seems high, doesn’t it?

You were a Marshall scholar at Oxford University in England. You write that your life began to unravel there. What happened?

I became very depressed. I totally lost my appetite and lost a huge amount of weight. I thought that I wasn’t supposed to speak, because speaking would spread my evil around. Obviously, it’s hard to make friends if you can’t talk with people, so I was very socially isolated, which was extremely painful. And I had mild paranoid ideas that people were talking about me and laughing at me behind my back, which may have been true, because I looked kind of bizarre walking down the street gesticulating and talking to myself.

Read the rest of Elyn Saks Time interview.

Saks also wrote a memoir The Center Cannot Hold: My Journey Through Madness. (on my to read list).

Speaking of books, I just checked out an absurd amount from the library on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

